Reminder to all POCKET people: a buy order will hit the book in about 10 hours!

in #pocket7 years ago (edited)


I just wanted to post a friendly reminder to any interested parties that when this post pays out in about 10 hours, I'll transfer the SBD rewards to my OpenLedger account and enter an irresponsible buy order on the OPEN.SBD/POCKET market on bitshares.

The payout for my post will be around 10 SBD; according to the order book right now that means I'd buy about 100,000 POCKET. However, I invite you to take a look at the BTS market as well, where POCKET is selling for much cheaper.

We have an interesting situation, from a theoretical perspective

10 SBD is worth about 188 BTS right now, which would buy nearly 400,000 POCKET in the BTS market! So what this means is that an optimistic arbitrageur could buy 400,000 POCKET using BTS, go place an order to sell some of it for SBD expecting that in 10 hours, I'll buy it. They could potentially profit from the fact that a known quantity of SBD is about to hit the books.

This would be risky, and I'll here officially advise you not to do it!

Because, and this is important, I'm not a financial advisor and trading cryptocurrencies is inherently risky. Remember that guaranteed returns in finance are intrinsically self-defeating: if you know you can make money doing something, then you'll be competing for the profits with other people who also know they can make money doing it; this competition decreases the share of the profit you can get, and it often decreases the total amount of profit available.

But in any case, I'm expecting to buy some POCKET using SBD tonight.

EDIT: I have received 13.14 SBD as author rewards from the post we're talking about; I've sent them to my bitshares account and now I'm waiting for the deposit to go through. Openledger has (in my experience) a very bad track record with processing SBD deposits and withdrawals, so I don't know when this will actually happen. But as soon as I see it in my account, I'll buy the POCKET with it.

Sort:  

Interesting - I remember the post last week, but obviously forgot about it...

I have quite a lot of pocket in different accounts, but think I am going to hold on and see where it goes - $1 would be nice...

Cheers

@biophil This will be an interesting event to see what happens.

pocketsend:1@haphazard-hstead, balance check

Successful Send of 1
Sending Account: haphazard-hstead
Receiving Account: haphazard-hstead
New sending account balance: 999999
New receiving account balance: 999999
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 3e2596ba4046f470da9328b555de9f7359d8b552
Thanks for using POCKET! I am a confirmer bot for fun, view my source confirmer code here. Don't know what a POCKET Token is? Here is a link to the official announcement post.

Nice! I thought I didn't ever get them. Very nice! I think I know how to use these for a project. I'll lay the groundwork in December and start it up Jan 1, 2018! :D

Excellent :)

Nice!

About a week ago I tried to transfer all of my POCKET over to my BTS account and it looks like it's stuck: https://steemit.com/pocket/@pocketexchange/pocket-exchange-between-steem-it-and-bitshares#@matt-a/re-pocketexchange-pocket-exchange-between-steem-it-and-bitshares-20171020t191555550z

Is it just being latent or did I mess it up? I used the same syntax previously and the 100 went through fine with about a 2 day delay.

Ah, sad. It probably got missed. @virtualgrowth does all the transfers manually at the moment, so just contact him on steemit.chat or something and let him know he missed it.

No worries! I'll be sure to poke at him on discord haha. Thanks and keep up the good work!

I must complain bitshare for not being user friendly making buyers u-turn!
Hassle,

Yeah, it can have some annoying features.

Buy and try to flip, no... but put a sell order in SBD from existing holdings... hmmmm

** Edited to add...

Then after selling them to you, flipping some of the SBD to BTS and picking up the ones available in the POCKET <=> BTS exchange....

Not a bad idea at all.

Thank you @biophil! this worked like a charm! I can't believe no one else undercut my bid!

Sold 131,869 POCKET for 13.14 SBD
Sold 3.14 SBD for 56 BTS
Bought 110,000 POCKET for 51.45 BTS

End Result - 10 SBD transferred to Steem
Total cost - 21,869 pocket

Effective Exchange Rate - 1 SBD for 2,186.9 POCKET

I'll take it every day of the week!

Well done! Yep, I was also surprised you got that price.

wonderful post and thanks for sharing

Hi @biophil !

Your bot just upvote me on a comment of @acidyo... about "jacuzzi of beer"... thanks to him

I don't know why 😂

Come and have a look if you want to....

https://steemit.com/dtube/@yann0975/hx1gaeme

https://steemit.com/fr/@yann0975/jacuzzi-a-la-biere-suite-du-biarritz-beer-festival-20171027t21626687z

See you
@yann0975

Great post.go ahead

pocketsend:650000@pocketexchange, BTS name: exp-mine

Successful Send of 650000
Sending Account: ezoterik-tk
Receiving Account: pocketexchange
New sending account balance: 49000
New receiving account balance: 42464600
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 5d8e1629ebc5fe13a28183908fb80ca81476bb0a
Thanks for using POCKET! I am a confirmer bot for fun, view my source confirmer code here.

In the future, please make sure to do these on the @pocketexchange blog. There is a very good chance that @virtualgrowth will not see this because you posted it here. You should probably go over and give @pocketexchange or @virtualgrowth a link to your pocketsend!

pocket-issue issued 643,499.000 POCKET to exp-mine

pocketsend:6498@virtualgrowth, 1% fee

Successful Send of 6498
Sending Account: pocketexchange
Receiving Account: virtualgrowth
New sending account balance: 42449581
New receiving account balance: 1405664
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: d1d9bf385488920d1ee149f930ccbd838a33e9b6
Thanks for using POCKET! I am a confirmer bot for fun, view my source confirmer code here. Don't know what a POCKET Token is? Here is a link to the official announcement post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84