POCKET Day 7: Over a billion tokens claimed!

in #pocket7 years ago

Right now, we have 1,059 Genesis claims. That means the total token supply of Pocket is 1,059,001,059. Over a billion tokens! I'm very pleased about that.


New confirmation bot

Yesterday, a new confirmation bot successfully started operating; this bot is called @tech-pocket, and sometimes you'll see it confirm alone, and sometimes it will post the same confirmation message as @pocket-a. They're racing to collect your fee, and @pocket-a is usually faster at the moment. But if @pocket-a goes down for any reason, or the system is under heavy load, @tech-pocket will be right there to pick up the slack. It looks like @tech-pocket has successfully confirmed 10 transactions so far.

@tech-pocket is being run by a community member. He's using the same code as @pocket-a, but I'm not operating @tech-pocket! This is an important step towards the decentralization of Pocket!

Claims in the 2nd half of the genesis interval

To claim their stake of Pocket, Steem accounts must resteem the Genesis post within 14 days after it was created. Unfortunately, on Steemit.com, you can't resteem a post after it is 7 days old. Fortunately, you can still do it on Busy.org. If people want to claim Genesis from now on, that's what they'll have to do. I wrote simple instructions on how to do so here. After September 11, no more claims will be valid and the supply of tokens will be fixed forever.

For more information

Sort:  

confirm

pocketsend:1@jackmiller, checking your account

Successful Send of 1
Sending Account: steemmillionaire
Receiving Account: jackmiller
New sending account balance: 987603
New receiving account balance: 1000000
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: b856ca6f38ce776b7657616fb9b2257f1d265d51
Thanks for using POCKET! I am running this confirmer code.

Successful Send of 1
Sending Account: steemmillionaire
Receiving Account: jackmiller
New sending account balance: 987603
New receiving account balance: 1000000
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: b856ca6f38ce776b7657616fb9b2257f1d265d51
Thanks for using POCKET! I am running this confirmer code.

I've just sent 100 POCKET to a nonexistent​ account, I guess those POCKET are out of circulation... unless somebody creates an account bearing that name?

That's right. What's the account name?

bau85 instead of the correct name which is baus85

Yeah, I see bau85 with a balance of 100. Glad it wasn't more!

On long term there is gonna be a huge loss on POCKET due to typo's. I'm not a scriptkiddy but isn't there a way to check for eligibility of receiving so that transactions to non-existing accounts are automatically rejected by the bot?

I thought about that, and in the end decided against it. It's actually harder than it sounds. The pocket bots have to be certain that the receiving account didn't exist at the very moment in time that the transaction was broadcast. The steemd API doesn't give you any way to do a historical lookup of whether an account existed at a given time, so the only way to do that in Pocket is to maintain a running list of all account names. I wanted to keep the resource requirements of the Pocket bots at an absolute minimum, so I decided that typos would be considered valid.

I also figured that if Pocket was popular, it wouldn't be long before someone built a wallet for it - the wallet could fix the problem and not submit a pocketsend unless the receiving account is registered.

Yes, I'm glad it only cost me 100 in order to learn to double check where I send my POCKET.

This is getting exciting!

I am trying to create an account to also help in confirming transactions
How do I go about it ?

What's your level of computer knowledge? Do you know any Python?

not that good with python but i can use java programming language very well

if i must use python please tell me what to do

Well, the quickest way to get a confirmer going is to use my python code: https://github.com/biophil/pocket

I create my accounts directly with the python-steem library, but I assume any Steem command-line wallet would allow you to do that.

Then you get my python code, contact me for a recent version of the database, and run python3 blockchain_reader.py.

If you wanted to use Java you'd have to implement your own confirmer bot from scratch, and I have no idea what Java tools are out there for Steem, if any.

pocketsend:1@tech-pocket, here botty botty botty

Successful Send of 1
Sending Account: biophil
Receiving Account: tech-pocket
New sending account balance: 979837
New receiving account balance: 12
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 2eb4254c98be6104d453715ed66c2b50158100c3
I am the-tech-guy's POCKET bot. Currently running this code.

I shut down my bot for a bit to get a confirmation from yours, so I could test my confirmation-voting code. It just might work!

pocketsend:1@pocket-a

Successful Send of 1
Sending Account: biophil
Receiving Account: pocket-a
New sending account balance: 979836
New receiving account balance: 1084
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 234d2fef7e41fa71f7ff2f9c6c4164275c1d0e72
Thanks for using POCKET! I am running this confirmer code.

Successful Send of 1
Sending Account: biophil
Receiving Account: pocket-a
New sending account balance: 979836
New receiving account balance: 1084
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 234d2fef7e41fa71f7ff2f9c6c4164275c1d0e72
I am the-tech-guy's POCKET bot. Currently running this code.

not yet it seems^^

let me know when you have the changes pushed to master, then I'll upgrade mine asap.

To keep the voting code simple and avoid voting too much, I'm having it vote only for ones that earned the fee. But it looks like it's working; it's voted for several of your confirms. I've got my updated code in the develop branch; it's what I have running now so you're welcome to give it a shot if you like. I'm going to keep running it for a little while before I merge it into master.

I think it's a great idea to prevent unnecessary spamming of confirmation messages. I'll give it a try.

Sorry if you've covered this elsewhere, but will there always be multiple confirmations for these transactions? If several confirmation bots are competing for the same fee, is there no mechanism for preventing this? If so, is the mechanism on the blockchain?

Competition and network lag will probably often lead to multiple confirmations. Only the first account gets the fee, though.

Successful Send of 1
Sending Account: biophil
Receiving Account: pocket-a
New sending account balance: 979836
New receiving account balance: 1084
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 234d2fef7e41fa71f7ff2f9c6c4164275c1d0e72
Thanks for using POCKET! I am running this confirmer code.

Successful Send of 1
Sending Account: biophil
Receiving Account: tech-pocket
New sending account balance: 979837
New receiving account balance: 12
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 2eb4254c98be6104d453715ed66c2b50158100c3
Thanks for using POCKET! I am running this confirmer code.

👍👍👍👍👍

What does this token do? Do they only exist in steemit?

congrats my friend @biophil and one more thing how to check my pocket balance is there a wallet or some command line to do that ?

All the details are on the original Announcement post: https://steemit.com/pocket/@biophil/pocket-announcement

thank you @biophil so for now there is no wallet but you can see your balance using the send command ;)

pocketsend:1000@biophil, thanks

Successful Send of 1000
Sending Account: malay11
Receiving Account: biophil
New sending account balance: 999001
New receiving account balance: 981826
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: d49d9f79e5b6ca10ace9c56f8eeb7e93372ded54
Thanks for using POCKET! I am running this confirmer code.

Successful Send of 1000
Sending Account: malay11
Receiving Account: biophil
New sending account balance: 999001
New receiving account balance: 981826
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: d49d9f79e5b6ca10ace9c56f8eeb7e93372ded54
I am the-tech-guy's POCKET bot. Currently running this code (develop branch).

Successful Send of 1000
Sending Account: malay11
Receiving Account: biophil
New sending account balance: 999001
New receiving account balance: 981826
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: d49d9f79e5b6ca10ace9c56f8eeb7e93372ded54
Thanks for using POCKET! I am running this confirmer code.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63632.98
ETH 2727.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58