Instant Community with Platforms - A Minnow's Experience

in #platforms6 years ago (edited)

A little background information

I'm new to the Steem blockchain. I started posting about two weeks ago here. I am primarily a visual artist and startup founder. I am also a programmer, an unschooling mom, and all-around life-long learner. I consider it my life's work to build equitable communities and fight poverty. I want to free myself to live the life of my dreams and bring others up with me.

I heard about Steemit months ago when everyone was talking about bitcoin and cryptocurrency. A facebook friend of mine has a crypto advice community he recommended for everyone to come here and try to earn by engaging with the community. I didn't join right away but the idea was planted in my mind.

Getting started is hard

So as a new minnow you join full of excitement. You see what are honestly low-effort and low value posts earn hundreds of dollars. You think I can do this too. Or that's what I thought at least.

It didn't take long to realize there is much more to this game than creating quality content and engaging through comments. There are other forces at play. This is not a meritocracy.

Screen Shot 2018-03-18 at 2.32.03 PM.png
look at all those zeros. It's discouraging, but I persist

Enter #steembasicincome and #platforms

Somehow, I came across a post by @tmholdings that was awarding shares of #steembasicincome. I was still very new the first time I encountered one of his posts so I didn't apply. The next time I saw one I applied and the idea of steem basic income was now on my radar.

Around the same time I found a post by @rishi556. He was giving away shares for participating in a Discord chat. It was the @platforms discord. I didn't get it but I decided to try anyway. I asked, "Do you just come in and chat?" They told me yes, that's it. I participated daily after joining and I did win a share from rishi.

I appreciate the platforms community and it's not just because I was awarded a share to sbi. They have been helpful with all my newbie questions about steem and they are smart and funny people. It's not hard to have a conversation there.

Join the Platforms Discord here - https://discord.gg/Nmcz3dB

Earn just by holding PLATFORMS

I'm all in. One of the benefits of platforms is the opportunity to hold and earn with PLATFORMS tokens on BitShares. I thought this was an excellent way to earn steem to advance my position on this platform. I really think everything about platforms is exciting and needed. They create a community and platform around your idea. Genius. You don't have to assemble a team that includes a developer, designer, marketers. It's all part of the package. At least that's my understanding of it. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Earn from Steemit Projects
image credit: @weberh8

I'm grateful that I found the platforms community early in my steem journey. I feel like I'm off to a great start and I've found my people here. I don't have the feeling of discouragement I had in those first days of blogging. I know that I have access to smart and kind people. It's awesome. Check them out.

Check out these other articles about Platforms:

Sort:  

Interesting articles, I will be keeping an eye out for them. Interesting concepts and I didn't realize moon bot is part of them.

Thanks for reading and commenting.

interesting group there and the more tokens and coins we have the better.

Thanks for commenting. Steemit has been a great learning experience for me so far. I’m absorbing so much info about crypto by being active here.

Your wonderful post was featured in DAILY DIGEST - Featured Quality Posts - March 19 2018 with a complimentary upvote from our team and members. Keep providing valuable and original submissions in #steemrepair and interesting content to Steemit community.

@steemrepair is a group account created and maintained by @aschatria @bapin @rasamuel @debbietiyan @udezee and @ninjadroidx
Our mission is to support, inform, connect and promote quality content creators on Steemit.
Discord Server Invite
Voting Trail

Thanks! This is the first time I’m featured here.

Yes, they are sure a welcoming community. They helped prod me into finally start posting here on SteemIt.

Awesome. I'm glad they convinced to start posting. You have a lot to offer the community.

Aw shucks, I hope to learn a lot with this new community.

I like the positive attitude, good to see you on the server, better successes ahead :)

Thank you. I appreciate the encouragement 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61226.21
ETH 2715.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45