Physalis - berry mystery

in #plants5 years ago

Yesterday, in the forest, I found a clearing where a lot of Physalis grows. Many boxes have already lost their color, but some, still bright red. It looks very beautiful in the forest. It looks like a Christmas decoration.

DSC03016.JPG

But, my post is not about beauty. Interestingly, Physalis is quite tasty and juicy, but not a single berry is touched. Forest animals and birds do not touch these nourishing berries. Why? For me personally, this is a very interesting question.

DSC03049.JPG

In theory, Physalis, like other plants tend to occupy new areas. And this means that someone must eat this berry, digest it and give it to nature already somewhere else. Seeds that are not digested by the body, enter the soil and germinate.

Here, I do not observe it. Berries fall to the ground, some distance they roll, and that’s it! Is this the distribution limit of the species? It is funny, it does not happen. How then do I find Physalis in other places in the forest? This is just a mystery.

I deliberately opened the boxes and looked, the berries were in place, no one was tempted by them.

I admit the idea that some Physalis berries are eaten when the box opens and they fall to the ground. And so it spreads through the forest. But, nobody touches the box itself.

I read that the stalks of Physalis, and the tissue of the box is poisonous, but animals do not seek to open it and get the berry. They know that this is poison.

Only happy berries that fall out of the embrace of a poisonous box on their own are given the opportunity to win new territories.

This is my guess.

DSC03048.JPG

Photos taken with a Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX300 camera
Author @barski
Moldova

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

Sort:  

Collects it for me @barski 😉 I would eat them all😂 I tried to grow them by spreading its seeds around my garden but it chooses its own place to grow.. at the side of the street in front of my house and some still love yo occupied the adenium pots.

But.. if I can't wait for them to ripe and eat it to prevent my sore throat, I just bought it from the supermarket😊 I like it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86