You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Birds and Bugs Matter

Not many bees here over the past 2 years. We have had some, but I am not hearing the buzzing of bee swarms. Though birds are so crucial to the balance of the planet, with our adopted form of farming birds have become a "nuisance" to so many farmers. Instead of planting a bird, bug and deer crop (land is so expensive and lost land = lost profit) we tend to control the populations. Maybe we should start to consider the way we grow our food instead of running the same race over and over.

Sort:  

Which birds bother you and how do they bother you?

Well I am not sure which ones they are like chickadees get in the garden and gobble up my seed right after I plant em' as well as my strawberries. The crows too, at the end of the season when my garden is full, they come in and eat at the melons, corn, grains and other. I guess a scarecrow will be necessary this year.

I know that crows can be a serious nuisance to farmers. I don't have crows around here. The little birds eat the bird seed I put out for them and they rarely bother anything in my garden. Goldfinches love the seeds that Salvia Scarlet Lady put out at the end of the summer. They also love the sunflower seeds. I know it's costly to buy bird seed. Aside from my vegetables, I like to plant native flowers all over that attract local birds, then they don't care about the veggies. If you like, I"ll research native plants in your region that could help you keep the birds off your veggie seeds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63425.40
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88