You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Happens To An Academic Mentor Or Supervisor Who Threatens To Publish Her Student's Original Article?

in #plagiarism7 years ago

I am really surprised to know such people exist in the Academia. In my own experience, the supervisors leave you to write, and then he/she can proof read your work. He/she will even advice you to look for reputable publishing house in which you might submit your journal. Although, supervisors might send it for publication since she/he might be an authority in such field, but with your name as a co-author.
Also, i can only imagine the kind of feelings you would have had, being an international student. Its frustrating when we have such bosses.
I would like to suggest that you have a one on one meeting with her and discuss this issue, probably have it recorded (audio/video recorder).
If she is not going to allow for peace and give you the credit and the first author in this case, you might need to escalate it to higher authorities by officially informing them.
I really feel the stress you must have gone through. Many times I wonder if you are super human, combining PhD with active blogging. It aint easy, but you are doing excellent. I hope this get solved as soon as possible. 6 years of PhD is not joke.

Sort:  

Glad to know that you are here, @turpsy. What I have written on this blog today is a tiny bit of the frustration that I have here. Actually, in the next 2 weeks, I'll be 7 years old in Serbia. There was a preparatory year for Serbian language diploma course, before 6 years at the faculty.

I would like to suggest that you have a one on one meeting with her and discuss this issue, probably have it recorded (audio/video recorder).

Thank you for reminding me of something. The last meeting I had in her office, I recorded the conversation we had during the meeting from start to finish. Thank God for dsound.audio . I will just upload it so that remains immutable on the steemit blockchian.

It's just a shame. I have actually reported to higher authorities and was advised to apply for change of supervisor ASAP, which I did. At the end of the day, when I sought for academic advise, the response I got was

Oh Mary, yes you can apply for a change of mentor. It is your right as a student, but not recommended. What??? That means that they've decided that I stick with a mentor, who pretends to be willing to help me, but does everything in her power to stall my progress.

Hmm... yes 6 years of PhD is no joke! I am tired of PhD student status. This is not comparing myself to others, but all my contemporaries, with whom I did masters degree at UNN, have long forgotten that have PhDs. What they are working towards now is becoming senior lecturers in the various universities where they lecture back home in Nigeria. Sometimes, I really regret coming to this country.

There was a preparatory year for Serbian language before the 6 years at the faculty.

This is really not a good experience i will wish someone not even a known enemy, both at home and abroad. Ordinarily PhD is like a big mountain, having this kind of issue is just unimaginable, i must guess, you have had good support from family and friends. If not person for don abandon the programme face another thing o.

I will just upload it so that remains immutable on the steemit blockchian.

This might be something worthy of keeping.

That means that they've decided that I stick with a mentor, who pretends to be willing to help me, but does everything in her power to stall my progress.

I am now utterly disappointed at this point in such system. And of course, no one will suggest starting again after 6 years of active research.

I am tired of PhD student status.

Its no pride. Does your supervisor has a Prof she listens to?

This is not comparing myself to others, but all my contemporaries, with whom I did masters degree at UNN, have all forgotten that have PhDs.

Definitely, 6 years is enough to get a Doctorate degree. Well, such might be an opportunity for something bigger soon. But as is it, she is a force whose Joy is fueled by you staying under her for so long. If they have a national body, like ASUU, or NUC or an active minsitry of education, or women affairs, you might want to consider those. Also, some MFM style might be re-visited.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68383.66
ETH 2646.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72