You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Plagiarism Submarine Has Submerged

in #plagiarism6 years ago

I am curious as to how you will recognise the difference between clear plagiarism and referenced quotes, for example?

Some of what I post are essays which I have researched and appropriately referenced/endnoted/bibliographied, but some of the quotes I use may be long enough to be seen by one of the anti-plagiarism services as just that. Which would be a false-positive.

So how do you filter that? :)

Sort:  

I am operated by one person, and I have no AI myself.

How do I look if the plagiarism is actual plagiarism? Take a news article for example, oftentimes I can find out the user's country or name by looking at their other posts. From there, I can compare that to the author of the news article and see if it's correct. Also, plagiarists often plagiarise more than once, so I can compare the author's names on the different posts.

You don't have to worry about me, I can see that you're quoting correctly etc. If you do get a comment from cheetah, you won't be flagged automatically. Steemcleaners check the post and if they decide it's plagiarism, it will be flagged.

Thank you, that makes me feel relieved.

It really is such a shame that there is this large cheating 'layer' to even have to think about cleaning up. So I applaud you for taking on the task.

Wait, so you aren't AI-powered? You're going to seek out plagiarism on the blockchain manually?

Either that's going to be a massive amount of work, or you're going to miss a whole lot of content. Probably both.

Still, I suppose you'll be better at avoiding false positives with legitimate cross-posting of articles by the original authors and such.

Indeed I'm not. Cheetah still misses a lot of plagiarism so every little effort to helps.

And yes, I only comment on things I know is plagiarism and not cross-posts.

It is an impossible task! But if we all are on the lookout for plagiarism it becomes much easier. Sharing the task... I check a few things myself because something didn't feel right. I've checked to see if that user name has been flagged by cheetah and many times it has.

There is a learning curve here for new people.... so I try to give them the benefit of the doubt.

Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66618.20
ETH 3498.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63