You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fake news - Plagiarism and taking things out of context

in #plagiarism7 years ago

Well hell that is very easy to do, I guess I need to rethink how I do things. Posting can be so much more rewarding and way easier if I write about other peoples content. Might just have to start looking for creative commons Milky Way photos so I do not have to spend a whole night doing it myself.

Sort:  

You know some people actually do that (though some don't cite their sources). I'm not saying I completely agree with it. As a matter of fact, I refuse to vote on posts like that, but I also don't feel like I have enough reasons to flag them. Not if they clearly show the source of their picture... I don't think I can really do much about such posts and defend my actions well enough, you know?

Its just kind of sad to see one person employing these tactics to soak up as much from the daily pool as they can. Its ranging from $200-$1000 per day for a single person using someone else's work and adding very little to it. Its a way to steal a little bit from the original creator as well as everyone on steemit.

Yeah, I understand that and I don't really agree on these kind of posts getting such high rewards. But then, I don't agree on a lot of huge payouts... there's just not a lot we can do about it, other than not vote on them ourselves. The only thing I can battle (without risking the wrath of half the platform) are plagiarists. People who do wrong in basically everyone's eyes.

Actually, @azfix, I was thinking about doing a post featuring some Steemit articles that I feel are undervalued. Kind of like a Hot list of my choosing, instead of that of bots and whales. I would link to them (maybe snap some screenshots for clickable pictures) to give them some extra exposure. How do you feel about something like that?

I used to feature some newbies from time to time. I'm done with that for now, but would like to give extra exposure to undervalued posts. Reading your standpoint on Barry's post though, I was wondering how you'd feel about my idea, since I'd probably earn a few upvotes on it myself aswell.

I think the best strategy is to organize a group of people that want to work together to do this sort of thing. I think your idea is fine as well although not quite as effective. Harvesting the mind power of many is always a better strategy. I am thinking about organizing people with similar steempower that can make a difference together. On a side note I used data from your profile for a post https://steemit.com/community/@azfix/who-supports-your-work-the-most-on-steemit

I guess if we ever get the long awaited communities, it'll become a lot easier to gather up a bunch of people with the same mindset to make a difference together.

Aah I'm a test subject yet again! Pff, I miss so many posts, sorry :-(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66945.54
ETH 3515.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71