My dog is a pitbull and people are prejudiced

in #pitbull8 years ago

Ive had my best buddy for 7 years now. We don't go out in public much. Why? My best friend is a pitbull. What happens when we walk in the neighborhood? People look at us and cross the street. Mind you, he's not barking, he's not acting aggressive, he does not have cropped ears so am I sure its a pitbull. He's so nice, are you SURE he's a pit? Why do you have to act like an ass? Why must I answer asinine questions but if you must. Let me remind you he's on a leash with a collar and a harness! I am in control of my dog. This dog has had so much training its ridiculous. OMG look. He barked, he might bite me right? No. He's a dog. Incase you didn't notice, they bark. Why does he have such a big harness? Is it because he's mean? No, its because he is leash reactive and anytime you clip a leash to his collar, it equals PULL. He likes to pull. The harness allows me to clip to the front of his body indicating "DONT PULL" in his doggy mind. Well, why would you have a pit in your house? I heard they attack so many people, children, animals and other dogs. Yes ALL DOGS have that capability and NO my dog has never murdered, attacked or maimed anything and guess what? He is even gentle with the 5 year old twins next door, my cats and even found an injured bird which he laid by until I could help it. What is my point of this post? To let you know that pits can be really amazing dogs if raised properly. Its when you get bad people on the other end of the leash that you have problem dogs. BLS or breed specific legislation should be banned. Make the HUMAN ADULTS responsible for their dogs. Use fines, use training, use help but don't blame the dogs. They're great. If my baby boy hadn't come along I might have even hurt myself from being depressed. He is my life and it is a sad when alI do on our walks is have to explain to people why my dog isn't a killer. There is the occasional person who wanders up and says pits are amazing and then bends down and gives him kisses. We need more nice people. Until then, I will continue walking my buddy at places where there aren't a whole lot of people. People suck

Sort:  

I had a pitbull a few years back. The sweetest little guy, not an ounce of mean in him. He ended up getting shot by the neighbor, for playing around with the neighbor's dog. At the same time, there are a ton of people who are bad pet owners who shouldn't have pitbulls but do, and they give everyone else a bad name. I've almost been attacked multiple times on the street by unsupervised pitbulls. So I definitely understand crossing the street to avoid. It's all in the owner, though. And you never know.

My biggest fear is him getting shot by neighbors or cops, or being stolen for a bait dog. I agree with the part that you never know about the owners and most definitely if your pit is unsupervised that's just bad ownership. I agree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66490.29
ETH 3513.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54