Sort:  

My dad was on a very restricted diet with none of his favorite 'fun food' allowed. I found recipes that I never would have tried otherwise - a dip made with fresh broccoli that tasted like guacamole (and it really did!) - and peanut butter cookies (he could have 6 small ones with a meal) that were so good I made them for myself too. It gave me a soft spot for recipes like these. (Just don't try to tell me that carob chips taste like chocolate because they don't!) :-p

If I could trick my family into eating broccoli thinking it was guacamole that would be amazing. Would be hard as we get great guac around here so we are kind of snobs about it...that crap you buy premade in the store isn't an option.

Peanut butter cookies, that I would try. The kids love peanut butter and bet it's something my kids could bake with me so that is always fun.

Luckily no diet restrictions in this house....yet....but I do look for ways to make things a little more healthy as I cook. Little things like cutting the salt by 50% or using less butter, but you need to play with that and see how much you can get away with before you mess it up.

Okay, the broccoli dip wouldn't get past guacamole snobs, fair enough!
I did a lot of searching and found low-sodium baking powder (Hain's) zero sodium bouillon (Herb-ox), substituted dillweed for dill pickles in tuna salad, things like that. I can give you the cookie recipe, it uses white and brown sugar Splenda, not everyone likes that. Oh, and I found a peanut butter powder, just add water! Didn't use it in the cookies but you could. Less salt and fat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46