You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Entry for the Pay-it-Forward Curation Contest - Week 22

in #pifc6 years ago

commented and upvoted both entries. I translated them but I wonder how much is 'lost in translation'. I enjoyed them still so it doesn't matter :)

Sort:  

One can never be 100% certain without being relatively fluent in both languages. But I do know it's getting better all the time and lots of non-English speakers are using it pretty well on Steemit. I've occasionally had an argument with Google Translate when talking to my Swedish cousins (I know some Swedish, but not as well as I'd like) - or finding times when the translation totally fails. (One case I remember was when my cousins were talking about hail - it translated as "hard rain." Another one, I was translating a French recipe - another language I can read halfway decently - and there was a word that would not translate. Going to a French supermarket website, I discovered it was a type of yogurt.)
But, in general, Google Translate is pretty good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43