Pick & Pay Now Accepts Bitcoin!!! One of South Africa's largest retailers :):)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #pickandpay7 years ago (edited)

PubDomain

This is massive!!!


At pretty much the same time China mentioned their "Crypto Ban" the Pick & Pay Group said they will now be accepting Bitcoin through transactions via the Luno wallet (setup through Electrum). This is FANTASTIC news people!!! The Pick & Pay Group (any South African and many other Africans will know this) has been one of the largest and oldest retail stores in the country, extending into some African countries as well :):) Their core focus has always been retailing groceries however they have expanded into other products as well. I won't go into detail here but I'll drop a link or two at the end.

The group was started by a South African revolutionary at the time, Raymond Ackerman, who started the chain many years ago. I read one of his books a few years back, The Four Legs of the Table and really loved his vision and strategy. Anyway, here is a quote from their site:

Pick n Pay is the quintessential family store focused on the customer. Since 1967 when consumer champion Raymond Ackerman purchased the first few stores, the Ackerman family’s vision has grown and expanded to now encompass stores in South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zambia, Mozambique, Mauritius, Swaziland and Lesotho. Additionally Pick n Pay owns a 49% share of a Zimbabwean supermarket business, TM Supermarkets. Our offer to customers focuses on groceries, clothing and general merchandise, but also includes additional value-added services to cater for our customers’ expectations and evolving needs. To ensure a convenient and accessible shopping experience the Group operates across multiple store formats, both franchised and owned.

Please go and check out the Pick & Pay Group then you will realise why I'm sooo exited about this news!!!

http://www.picknpay.co.za/about-us-introduction

The Pick & Pay/Bitcoin article below:

https://electrum.co.za/bitcoin-accepted-at-pick-n-pay/

I won't be spending much of my Bitcoin there since I'm holding. Not that I have much though but I'm busy growing my Crypto. We all need to start somewhere :):) I will however show my support and buy a few items from them in future via my Luno wallet :):). Now that I think of it this will actually be great motivation for me to get my wife to invest more of our ZAR into BTC. Yay!!!

It's going to be interesting to see what the tellers do initially "Oooh he 'e" - I think my South African friends will understand that last bit :)

As mentioned in the link at the end this is probably one of the largest retailers to first accept BTC!!! Good going Pick & Pay :):) I'm sure you'll be receiving great support from the Crypto Enthusiasts!! I most certainly will.

Hmmm, maybe I'll send their marketing or tech departments this post link...


Next:

The reason I mentioned the Pick & Pay accepting Bitcoin coinciding with China's news is because I wanted to throw a thought out there about China's "move". After chatting to my wife last night (she is a bit of a financial genius) she said China did it deliberately so they too can cash in on a bit of Crypto. Let BTC fall a bit then we can buy!! Why? Well, with Missiles flying all over the place lately it could be an easy way to build extra currency without causing too many waves. Simple, straight forward, very plausable.

Ok, that's it from me. I hope you all have a Super Saturday!!!

Cheers!!!

pic 2.gif

signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Definitely a step in the right direction!! When someone tries this out they must let us know their experience ☺️

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.2$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Yeah man, indeed :):)

This is great news... Only problem for me is i dont want to spend bitcoin lol

Haha, yeah man. Same here :):) The plan is the following though: Say we're going to the shop to buy items estimated to be i.e. R250. Then I'll transfer 300 ZAR. Kind of round it off to the higher value :):)

Wow, great news that we will be able to pick and pay with bitcoin at our favourite supermarket, Pick n Pay moving ahead of the pack!

Yes, indeed they are :):) I'm actually super proud of them :)

This is awesome news so excited about this

Yeah man!! One os SA's powerhouses have come onboard :):) Very good indeed:):)

Hhhhmm. Very interesting. How long will the transaction from luno to pick n pay take though? I wonder if there will be interest or a fee on it? Or tax?

Interesting that they are encouraging a non fiat transaction.

Very interesting.

Good questions. I'm certain though that P&P combined with the Electrum setup will be a smooth transaction. Idk, gna give it a bash though. As for taxes/fees, well, that I can't give an answer on yet however I do believe it will be relevantly priced :) Let's see :):)

Great post @ therneau
Thank you for sharing this interesting info with all of us.I still need to build my bitcoin but will keep this in mind.

Yes, I'm in the early building stages so I'd be investing more than I spend :) For me at least it's good motivation to get my wife to buy more into BTC :):)

Thank you for the post @therneau. I see this as an opportunity to promote Steem in South Africa. Because as of now, some South Africans are sceptical about Bitcoin. It would be easier to do Steem Marketing when people see some Bitcoin on your smartphone.

Very good indeed!! If you can show people that you can actually use tour BTC at a local retailer, a profound and established one, it will change many perspectives:):)

Awesome!, finally retailers are adopting blockchain! Lets hope the banks don't shut this down.

Yeah man!! That is still a big potential thorn in the crypto side however with such powerhouses coming on board that have been dealing with constitutional rights on a daily it will certainly assist crypto from a legal perspective :):) Imo :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59