The Old Dog Presents: Cool Thing of The Day!

in #piaggio7 years ago (edited)

You'll go Ape Over This!

I used to get annoyed by these little Piaggio three wheelers when I was stuck behind them! What was I supposed to do? Laugh? Cry? 

I guess that I've matured because when I saw this little thing the other day I fell in love with it! 

Not only can you park them for free in many cities, including Lugano where I saw this one, but what more do you need for getting around in the city? It is a common sight in Italy as its compact size enables it to get to and park almost anywhere!


The Ape Celessino has about the same footprint as a motorcycle but it seats three. Cute, isn't it?

 History of And Facts About The Piaggio Ape

  • The name refers to the fact that it is for work because ape means bee in Italian
  • It was produced after the second world war in 1947 to provide Italy with cheap transport to rebuild the nation!
  • The first Apes had 50, 150 or later 175 cc engines
  • It is basically a Vespa (scooter) with two wheels added to the rear and a flat bed structure added onto the axle
  • It has been in continuous production since it first burst onto the scene!
  • In 2013 Piaggio announced that it would only be produced in India in the future
  • Depending on the model, this little truck can carry between 175-805 kg
  • It has high torque for climbing hills but a low top speed which is fine for an urban setting!

The Ape Calessino

The model that captured my fancy is the Calessino. It has a retro look and a autorickshaw type body that can carry the driver and two passengers! The styling of this model is similar to those of the 50's and 60's and it was meant to bring back memories of  Italy's amazing economic growth of that era! The so called Miracolo Economico!



The electrical company uses this for getting around in the city! Free parking and really, what more do you need!



It's basically  a scooter with a cab built around it! Hey, whatever works as these things have been in use since 1947!



For comparison here's another Ape model which was parked in the same area. Not as beautiful but it works!


So there you have it, another gift from Italy to the world. This cool thing of the day has been in production for over 70 years and it's still going strong! It can be scene all over Europe and of course India!


What Are Your Impressions? 

  • Do you find the Ape cute, useful or just annoying?
  • Do they use them in your area?
  • Have you ever seen one?


I hope that you enjoyed this article about "The Cool Thing of The Day!"


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)


Sort:  

I sure wouldn't mind scootin' around in one of those things...I should convince my better half to get one for us in our old age...!!😉😝

but its cute!
not safe though
never seen any around here
but I won't mind riding one
reminds me of a tuk tuk in Thailand
just moderner

not highly recommended to use in winter though :D

Bellissime! Very interesting!

Interesting and at times annoying!

Good to know that this thingy exist in your country too. I've seen many foreign tourists so excited about these three wheelers in my country that they used to take a joy ride in it clicking selfies all the way. So I used to think that this vehicles are specific to India only.

Here it is not used as a personal vehicle but only as a taxi service or public conveyance. So for the people here, who are thinking to possess one, I'd like to say that if you drive one in India, people will stop you to hire it LOL!

Cool! I love Ape (the Calessino you shown is awsome!), it remeber me of my vacations in Veneto when I was a kid. There still are some farmer or lumberjacks there, and a lot of them use the APE beacause you can carry a lot things on it! I was lucky enough to make the graphics for an Icecream Ape and it ended in a magazine about sign making :D:
Ape

Very cool graphic job @airmatti! Veneto, I forgot about that!

Ha, I have never seen these. They are funky! Amazed considering the driving of the average Italian that I saw when over there that they are allowed!

Italians a re fast and furious!

Nice. I am surprised all that strangling EU regulation has not force them off the road.

That's a good point. Legislate evertything out of existence!

Pollution, noise, too much carbon. Pick their excuse right.

China is joining the UK, France, and Norway in banning vehicles powered by fossil fuels.

First one is so lovely, but I'm to tall for this :)))

That could be!

I love them, In my area you only see them sometimes.. mostly on festival as foodtruck... I wish I bought them 20 years ago in Italy.. Now they are really a collectors item... but that is for a lot of things... so now let's save STEEM and we will see if that can bring me my pension in 20 years..

Yes Steem and pension might work!

How we call it is just a name :-) But it is and will be an APE ;-) And apes are cute, no matter how they look,.. we all have a bit from them..
Thank god they are not on the road here in Holland,.. on the other side, could be fun to have one for doing shopping, very convenient.
I saw them in Italie last summer and some look alikes ( like everything overthere) in China.
Thanks again for this nice topic which you share!

Yes good for shopping in urban areas!

or we must double stack

Wow....thats classic

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64927.71
ETH 3517.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36