United Alarm Systems Sign

in #phototalent6 years ago (edited)

United Alarm Systems Sign

Happy Saturday everyone I hope your weekend is going well, Mine has gone well, got a lot done today so tomorrow I can take it easy :)

1 United Alarm Systems.jpg

Sony A7iii 31mm F4 1/60 Sec ISO 250
Click here to view larger



I came across this old looking sign while walking up West Houston Street a little while back and I thought it had such character and looked like it had been around for a long time I had to get a couple of shots of it

1 United Alarm Systems-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 100mm F5.6 1/60 Sec ISO 1250
Click here to view larger



Zooming in on the bottom of sign I see at the time they put this up it had been operating at that time for over half a century, and I was intrigued by how old this sign maybe, a quick google search shows they started business in 1945, so they had been in business for 50 years in 1995, so at most this sign is only 22 years old, which means my initial feeling of how old this sign may have been was way out.

It looks to me like some truck must have clipped it at some stage with the dent in the lower left of it.
And when I took this photo I noticed there was something on the wall behind it

1 United Alarm Systems-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 72mm F5.6 1/60 Sec ISO 10000
Click here to view larger



And this is what it was, another eagle tying in tot he companies emblem I guess


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.766913 lat -74.004415 long W Houston Street NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Howdy there JJ! I'm really surprised that the sign is that young too because it is a classic Art Deco form to it, pretty surprising. Interesting sign but the need to paint it. lol.

Yes that did surprise me, obviously whoever made it love the Art Deco style

Yes sir either they were old and stuck in the 20's and 30's or they were just a fan of the style. Very interesting, and part of the endless variety and fascinations that are New York City!

Indeed sounds about right and for sure always so much to see in NYC without a doubt

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Hi, @tattoodjay!

You just got a 7% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Beautiful photograph of United Alarm Systems Sign.
well done dear friend...

Thanks Kindly

Majestic emblem @tatoodjay the first appears old, the second valuable, either way stunning photography on both.

Thanks it was a cool find when by Mistake I turned the wrong way up a street and came across it ;)

Some lovely signs my friend and I bet there's a lot of history and stories around behind the signs! Blessings!

Yes I am sure there are many stories for some of the old signs around NYC

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=united-alarm-systems-sign


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi @tattoodjay!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.998 which ranks you at #1135 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1134).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 216 contributions, your post is ranked at #47.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I agree, I would have thought it was much older than that. It is a cool looking sign though. The eagle looks much newer than the sign or maybe it just has a fresh coat of paint!

Glad its just not me that thought that, I do wonder if the eagle is NEwer of painted and refreshed more often like you say

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60643.63
ETH 2401.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61