Lake Kaweah

Anyone Want To Go Up To Greasy Lake?


Kawaeh Lake1.jpg

Crazy Janie and Her Mission Man


There is no doubt I fell for the scenery and landscapes out on my trip to California! I mean, sure, who wouldn't with the views like this one? A while back, the state dammed up the Kaweah River, coming down off the Mountains, and filled in this lake.



It's about a mile down on the dark side of Route 88

One thing I never mentioned, before I took this crazy trip cross country, is the weird dream I had one night. I can't go into all of it, it's a bit hazy, right now... but the gist of it is: I dreamed I was flying out to meet Dreemie and her husband, and they ended up kidnapping me and I was never heard from again. I told her and we laughed quite a bit. As I am walking out of the airport when they picked me up, a had a brief flash, thinking, well, guess we'll find out for sure... won't we?

Six and a half days later, we're having an absolute blast. Great time, walks in wonderful National Parks, great food, and an absolute joy of a family...

...until we go down the mountain and visit Kaweah State Reservation and Lake Kaweah. We get to this park, where @dreemsteem had been talking about a beautiful walk and a great place for pictures. We're walking and she's spending her time all that day talking about, "Oh-oh... hmmm... something's not right. I'm sure it's around here somewhere. Let's just keep walking, maybe it's around that bend..." Meanwhile, in the back of my mind, here it comes: Kidnapped and Diced into tiny pieces! Sure, sure, lure me into the woods at some weird state reservation, where my body will be found by a team investigating my mysterious disappearance, ten years alter on some reality TV show. Isn't it always some out of the way state park where they bury the bodies?

Oh you don't know what they can do to you
Spirits in the night (all night)
In the night (all night)
Stand right up now and let them shoot through you

With apologies to Bruce Sprinsteen

Turns out, it was springtime... which, on the east coast can mean anything from winter, to summer, and not much other differences, but, out in the Sierra Nevada Mountains, Springtime means, winter snow melts, little runoff, flowing into tiny streams, turning into massive streams, and angry overflowing rivers, overfilling the lake, down below, by the damn.

The paths for the beautiful walks that Miss Dreem had talked about? About ten feet under water. Maybe Next Time they can kidnap, me, but for now...

Guess this means, there's more to do! Can't wait for the next time I visit!

More of my California Dreemin' Trip Photos


Always, I strive to give back
To the animals and birds around me
to put more plants in than I take out
And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios
Nikon d7000, 3 shot panorama processed in Lightroom, and Photoshop.

thealliance_468x60.jpg

MonkeeSupporter.png

Small Welcome Wagon.png


!steemitworldmap 36.405425 lat -118.989308 long Lake Kaweah d3scr

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations @bluefinstudios! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 16000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 17000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=bluefinstudios
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=lake-kaweah


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

oh please!!! the only thing you were worried about that day was all the birds i was chasing away with my determination to find that cool path!

next time come in the late fall and i'll show you that path. it's pretty beautiful! our walk was cut significantly short that day but in the late fall - its warm, water is low - and you can walk and walk and walk (and the mountains in the distance are COVERED with snow - beautiful photos!)

!SHADE 2
Thanks for sharing on Pimp Your Post Thursday

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68212.63
ETH 2645.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69