Photographing dragonflies the lazy way

in #photoography7 years ago (edited)

Photographing dragonflies takes a lot of time spotting, sneaking up and moving slowly. There is, however, a lazier more efficient way to go about taking pictures of these little beasts.

Dragonflies like sitting in the sun in high places, where they have a good overview for hunting, and a photographer who sits still is just a part of the landscape to them. Combine these two facts with some creature comforts and the easy recipe for photographing them becomes as follows:

  • Find a place where dragonflies tend to roam;
  • Install yourself in the sun comfortably, with a glass of wine if you so desire;
  • Stick out a finger;
  • Wait. After a few minutes, a dragonfly will land on your finger;
  • Take photo.


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO100, f8, 1/160s

You will have to be able to take photos with one hand, of course, or use somebody else's finger.

Good luck!

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.26 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 27 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

The glass of wine is for the dragonfly, admit it!​ Otherwise, ​I can not imagine how can you keep it still :)

=D
They sit still because they like sunbathing, the wine is mine!

Too impatient for that, so I'd have to use a volunteer. :-)

Nice shot again!

Thanks!
You can bring a book, if that helps with your impatience.

You're welcome!
That is an idea, it could land on that.

There is so much I managed to overlook in nature, to much focused on the bigger picture. Thanks for making me aware of the meso world. Next time I take my cam on a trip, I will look for that part of reality.

It actually took me some time to learn to switch from overview to small at will when photographing. It's like they are two modes.
BTW dragonflies will also land on the tips of fishing poles. Not when you are fly fishing or spoon fishing, though.

Hm, do not fish at all... But I'll find a way.

Will do my best next time I take my Nikon out for a spin.

Noticed that you use several Olympus cams, my first ever digital one carried that brandname. Which one would you say is your prefered one for lightweight easy to carry, yet awesome results?

Not always in the mood to carry my bulky D50 up and about.

I have the big SLRs, but I use the Olympus Stylus 1s almost exclusively these days, and I love it. It's on my belt wherever I go. Unfortunately, Olympus discontinued it without announcing a successor.

The same goes for the XZ-1, which is smaller and slightly better for macro, but the 1s has a better sensor and a longer reach (28-300mm), and a proper viewfinder.

SLRs are just too bulky to carry around all the time, and I rarely use them anymore, except for film.

Thanks for the info. Maybe I can still find the 1s, or compareable, anywhere.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57307.38
ETH 2434.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32