Darkness Defied

in #photomag6 years ago (edited)

Night descends around the Mt Yasur volcano as its eruptions defy the darkness. Have you ever watched a volcano erupt in front of you from the crater rim? Quite the unnerving experience as each of those blocks of magma is about the size of a refrigerator! Mount Yasur is a volcano on Tanna Island, Vanuatu, that sits at 361 m (1,184 ft) above sea level.

darknessdefied.jpg

The best way I can describe it is that it is like watching an explosion while experiencing an earthquake and listening to a sonic boom. Then as you stare numbly into space your trance is broken by the whistling noise of the magma falling from the sky with the hope it falls short of where you are standing.

dantesinferno1.jpg

I had not shared the title shot before however I thought I would post it up with the two subsequent shots that I had posted previously as they are a little more powerful when shown together. The last shot was taken with a super wide angle 10.0 mm (15.8 mm in 35mm); to give you an idea of how close we were to the action.

EruptingVolcano.jpg

If you would like to learn a little bit more about my background in photography you can read the interview @photofeed did with me here

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

wow amazing.

Nice shot buddy

Posted using Partiko Android

WoW!! Yor photo shot is simply amazing...

Very kind of you

Awesome shots. Kudos for managing to take sweet pictures while it's raining refrigerator sized magma.

No problem. By the way, I just read that interview you did with photofeed and I was wondering if you think it's worth it to post photography on instagram and facebook. I know the consumer base is bigger but as you said the algorithms aren't as friendly to new people.

That is an interesting question. If you are trying to develop as a photographer then I would say yes. You have to post to Instagram and FB as that is currently where all the people are. That said algorithm on FB is almost impossible to grow a following with. IG is slightly better but the days of going from 2k followers to 10k just with platform growth are gone, they are at saturation levels (1 billion users). Why post then ? Because if you want to interact with other photographers and collaborate and learn thats where the talent is. Otherwise your stuck talking to people like me ;-). It is also where clients expect to see your portfolios. I have 50K followers on IG which is not something you can just walk away from either as that represents value to clients. I am hoping with the advent of SMT's and applications like APPICS that there will be real blockchain alternatives to Instagram that one can promote to your own followings. Steem is more like reddit in its current form although steempeak.com goes a long way to helping improve the interface. Steepshot is unlikely to take off I don't think as it just cross posts to your steem feed and clutters it up.

Lol I'm happy to be talking to people like you, you've got a lot good insight!

What you're saying about gaining a following on instagram and facebook is about what I had guessed and I'm not sure my content is professional enough to make the effort worth it at this stage, but I'll definitely keep it in mind for the future. It makes sense clients would want to see followings on more traditional platforms.
Have you promoted steemit to your instagram/fb followers at all and if so did you notice any meaningful growth on this platform?

Btw thanks for taking the time to respond.

I have tried with steemit but its too hard for instagram. Hence I am hopeful for appics which will be more of the user experience for IG and they are putting a lot of effort into simplifying the sign up etc.

Amazing pictures of volcano and the yout thinking about this amazing

Great shot, well done my friend..
Happy world photography day to you and all photographers around the globe....✌️✌️💪
world-photography-day-4.webp

Image source: https://indianexpress.com/photos/lifestyle-gallery/world-photography-day-quotes-by-photographers-on-photography-5314434/

Thank you ! I did not there there was a world photography day!

adorable)

Impressive! Love the long exposure showing the trails of the flying refrigerators :)

Lol. Yes its a bit weird when you say it like that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99