Photography ideas - Part 1

in #photographyideas6 years ago (edited)

Need new ideas? Maybe you haven't tried this one yet.

Floating cherry number 1. --> Pretty please with cherry on the top

Floating cherry number 2
IMG_1320.JPG
Photo: CC BY-SA gallery.insaneworks.fi
Camera: Canon EOS 550D
Shutter Speed: 1/25 sec
Aperture: f/5.6
ISO Sensitivity: 6400
Exposure Compensation: 1 EV

How was it made?


The studio.
IMG_1101_1.jpg
Equipment: mirror, water, lights, object, camera.


How to make ordinary things look interesting, enhanced, weird, crazy, pretty or just different than usual. This is photography ideas part one.

shop.jpg
CC BY-SA gallery.insaneworks.fi

Sort:  

Ah great, I liked your earlier picture and I am even happier you are starting a series on this matter.

Hopefully I will be able to share some image in which I use your trick. Thanks again for sharing.

Again you're welcome. :) Hopefully I can provide lots of usable ideas which generate new ideas.

I gave it a shot. Not too bad, but it still needs a little more love and care :)

I notice you use SIO 6400. In some vids online multiple people said to stay below 1600 or so because the image gets too grainy. Is it your setup that makes it different?

You're right, big number on ISO makes photos grainy. And if that's not what you like then below 1600. I usually always stay below 800. Except when I'm trying new things. And on the other hand, I always do try. New things. Sometimes the graininess looks alright, sometimes doesn't. Like this one. Part of the original cherry, cut, not reduced. Right click --> open.
IMG_1320_part.jpg

Also reducing the pic for web purposes smooths the graininess. Because --> jpg. But somehow it doesn't bother me so much in the cherry pic as in the magenta colored UV bandpass filter pic.

I'm more comfortable working with lights where I can see the light all the time. I've studied more making videos than taking photographs. So ordinary lamps and pocket flash lights are my favorite lights. And of course natural light. I only own one external camera flash and that is usually too strong to be used with the ordinary lights.

So in this floating cherry case the lights used here are the table lamp in the back, small led lamp on the left and natural light mixed with ceiling light from the right and everywhere. I had very little space so if I remember correctly, this photo was taken so that I couldn't use the stand because the table didn't have enough space for it. Then again I had to go close because I had an extension ring in the camera. So I had to support the camera with my elbows to the table, adjust ISO to 6400 and hold my breath as the shutter speed was 1/25. Or breathe only slowly out. :)

This was one on those: "I'll adjust everything, I just take this one picture first. And then ten more." After I adjusted everything so that I could fit everything better to the table, I did't like the results. The moment was gone.

Thanks for sharing. Yes I can see how it works for some pictures and not for others. I definitely need to experiment more :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-25T23:03:33
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 110.50/200.00
Total Photos: 17
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67655.95
ETH 3799.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53