Coco in 2020

coco2020.JPG

#photographychallenge04 asks for people to take a photo of their favorite pet.

I am not sure if this picture will qualify. The subject is a young lady by the name Kokopelmana who showed up on our porch during a fierce snow storm. She looked at me with those two big eyes and said: "I am cold. Feed me."

And I've been doing that ever since.

The challenge asks people to take a picture of a pet. I am not sure if this picture could qualify. The challenge clearly says that the subject of the picture should be a pet. I have never figured out which one of us is the owner and which one is the pet.

If one looks at the history of things; it is clear that Coco is the one who chose me and she is the one who makes the decision.

I probably should explain her name.

Coco showed up on our porch during a snow storm. For the next couple of weeks I ran around trying to find her owner. When I did I discovered that the owner was a divorced lawyer. His kids brought the dog home one weekend, but he did not have time to care for the dog; so deeded custody to me.

Yes, my dog has a lawyer, which is a scary thought. She also started her own blog which she hasn't updated for a few years.

Lets see: 2020 - 2003 =17: I've been feeding this little brown creature for about 17 years. She is just about old enough to vote. Unfortunately her year legs gave out and she has a hard time walking.

Now for the dog's name. I discovered that the dog's original name was "Coco." The name was not original enough for me; So I decided to call her Kokopelli.

Before changing her name I thought I should do some research on the name.

I thought the name Kokopelli referred to the flute player character that one often finds on petroglyphs in the American Southwest. This story is not true.

image.png

The flute player petroglyphs were drawn 800 years ago and we don't know the name of the flute player.

The name Kokopelli refers to the Hopi kachina of mischief. Kokopelli is a boy. Kokopelli is the Hopi equivalent of coyote. It is a truly fitting name for a canine. The problem is that the Coco that occupies my house is clearly a young lady.

The name Kokopelmana refers to Kokopelli's wife. I understand that some Hopi were upset with the appropriation of the name Kokopelli; however, the current wikipedia article seems to combine both the Hopi and the Anasazi legends into a single mythical character.

image.png

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in the latest 100 Days of Steem Challenge.

Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85