Photography 101 – Lesson 2 - Composition – Assignment 2 - Rule Of Thirds ChallengesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography1017 years ago (edited)

In Lesson 1 of Photography 101, I covered the different ways an image can have IMPACT!

This week I'm going to discuss The Rule Of Thirds, but please be aware that The Rule Of Thirds is not a rule at all – only a suggestion! Not every photograph needs to adhere to The Rule Of Thirds. In fact some images have more IMPACT when the subject matter is centered in the image or is very close to the edges!

Ansel Adams Quote.jpg

For now I simply would like to explain The Rule Of Thirds, so that you can decide for yourself if you want to use it in your images or not. Please experiment to see what works for you.

There are those who absolutely hate the very mention of The Rule Of Thirds, saying it stifles creativity. I agree with them to a point. After all, if all you are thinking about when you are taking a photograph is where the subject matter should be placed, then you have missed the point. Many of you instinctively follow that “rule” without even knowing you are doing it. I certainly did – long before I attended art school and was introduced to The Rule Of Thirds! My own opinion is that it is very pleasing to the eye, but you may not agree, and that's OK!

So, in this lesson I hope to make you aware of this method of composing your subject matter. The rest is up to you. Remember, beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and not everyone sees the balance in an image that utilizes The Rule Of Thirds! What makes a good photograph is really very subjective. If an image has IMPACT for you for whatever reason, then it has succeeded in being a good photograph, regardless of whether The Rule Of Thirds has been implemented or not!

WHAT IS THE RULE OF THIRDS?

Think about your image as being broken up into nine equal parts, with two horizontal lines and two vertical lines like this:

Rule Of Thirds.jpg

HOW DO YOU USE THE RULE OF THIRDS?

The "rule" places important subject matter at (or close to) the lines or intersection points.
The simplest way of using the “rule”, is to use it in a landscape shot, placing the horizon either on the bottom or top horizontal line, or close to it. If you place the horizon right in the center, as beginners often do, you have succeeded in dividing the image exactly in half, so you are not sure if the land or the sky is meant to be the focus of the shot. On the other hand,if you wish to create tension for some reason, placing the horizon in the middle will certainly do that! In my own work, I have a tendency to place the horizon much closer to the upper or lower edges of the frame, because I believe it creates more interest.

In this image of Daytona Beach, Florida, the horizon is on the lower horizontal line, and the woman with the balloons is on the left vertical line.

Daytona Beach Rule Of Thirds Grid.JPG
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.

If you have one tall vertical subject matter in the shot, the idea is to place it on either the left or the right vertical line. If the subject is a person or animal, it is a good idea to have the person or animal looking into or moving into the largest part of the image. But again, you can create tension by breaking that “rule.”

The lifeguard station at Daytona Beach, Florida is placed on the left vertical line, and the horizon is pretty close to the lower horizontal line.

Lifeguard Daytona Beach Grid.JPG
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.

The horizon in this shot is closer to the upper edge of the image, but the palm tree which was uprooted and washed ashore by Hurricane Irma at Jacksonville Beach, Florida is at the upper right point of intersection.

The theory is that objects placed at the intersection of the lines create more balance in the image, as the eye naturally goes to those points of interest. For those of us who read from left to right, the line and two intersecting points on the left have the strongest impact, whereas the line and intersecting points on the right will have more impact for those who read from right to left! So, the idea is to place the subject matter at one of these points (or simply close to it.)

Palm Tree Beach Grid.JPG
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.

This great egret is walking into the ocean at Daytona Beach, Florida and it is placed on the right vertical line with its eyes close to the upper right intersection point.

Egret Dayton Beach Grid-2.JPG
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.

The great egret is now walking away from the ocean and is at the upper right intersection point and is walking right out of the shot. Does this work for you? Why, or why not?

Egret Dayton Beach Grid-1.JPG
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.

Which one of the great egret shots works best for you? Why?

So, there you have it - The Rule Of Thirds! The information is there for you to use as you wish! However, for this week's assignment, please use the The Rule Of Thirds in an image, so that others (including yourself if you wish) can determine whether or not it works for your image!

All photographs in this post were shot with my iPhone 6s Plus.

Lesson 2 Assignment: YOUR OWN image using The Rule Of Thirds!

Remember to add #photography101 as a tag, so that others can find and critique your work! You may post the link to your post here too if you wish, but it is not necessary. The The Rule Of Thirds challenge will finish next Sunday, October 22.

Other posts in this series:

Introductory Post With Rules

Lesson 1

Lesson 1 Challenge

Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it.

Upvote and Resteem.jpg

To find my blog posts, photography and designs on Steemit, please search on #dianemacphoto and to check out my art prints and stock images online, please visit my website.

Sort:  

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

I am not good enough to participate but I am following your lessons with great interest. There is so much to learn and I am looking forward to your next post. Meanwhile I will grab the camera, the tablet whatever I have available and start experimenting with The Rule of The Thirds.

Please don't feel that you are not good enough @nelinoeva! This series is intended for beginners like yourself - not so much for those who know a lot about photography. I'm hoping that those who know a lot will participate too - especially by critiquing the work!

Thank you very much for your kind comment. I am eager to learn and I appreciate your support. I will be more than happy to show some images. :-)

Please do! We all had to be beginners at some point!

I prefer the first great egret shot. In the second one, most of the image seems superfluous.

Yes, that is the reasoning behind the "Rule of Thirds." You are seeing what the great is walking away from and not anticipating what he is walking towards, so it is a weaker shot according to the "rule." Yet, the image could be used to portray the past and being on the edge of the future. It all depends on what the viewer is looking for, if anything! As as stock shot, it would work to portray just that, but as art - well beauty is in the eye of the beholder!

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 16 October 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Thanks for that little boost @pixresteemer, friend!

This is an excellent post @dmcamera! Very helpful.

I tried to vote earlier and comment but steemit was timing out on me. Regardless...I'm here now and can say....bravo!

Thanks! I've been having Steemit issues too. Seemingly there is some kind of of Ddos attack going on at Steemit. I don't think they have it figured out yet!

I hope so soon....it's been like this for a while but particularly bad today. I had to post 4x to get my post up. I thought it might show up four times too. Ah, the joys of the internet.

It's a problem! I've had trouble making my posts too, but it was worth it in the end, as this post has made the Trending Page. Yaay!

I know.....!! Awesome. Can't wait for more from you.

Thanks! I'm having fun, so I guess that's the main thing!

Speaking of problems.....my last reply was sent two times....I kept getting an error - a strange one - anyhow, I deleted the other...just letting you know in case you get two.

I didn't! But I would understand if I did! :-)

Good photos, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste, you have my vote :D greetings

thank you for the lesson. following for more lesson.
have to make a shot, and post so you can give me critique. 😃😃

Thanks! I look forward to seeing your work!

good work teachin....it's a very good rule too.
one of my favourites..i get to understabd it more when i watch videos

I tried a rule of thirds composition for my colorchallenge entry. I aimed for something like the first great egret in the composition.

It worked very well in your shot! I tried to Upvote and comment, but Steemit was acting up like it was doing yesterday, so not sure if it sent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63