How I met a Nymph

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Once ̶u̶p̶o̶n̶ ̶a̶ ̶t̶i̶m̶e̶ I was walking through the woods. It was one of those nice and warm days in May - a time of transformation of all nature. I decided to stop by a picturesque creek, and suddenly I saw her - it was a nymph.

IMGP0255n.jpg

But don't start to get jealous. It was not one of daughters of Zeus the minor nature goddesses but quite another creature. Shortly, I was lucky enough to be a witness of metamorphosis of immature form of dragonfly into an adult.

While growing, a naiad can change its chitinous shell up to 15 times. Some species live in water during 2 years and after that they crawl out of the water, molt for the last time (as you can see) and turn into a winged belle.


This photo-story is inspired by today's photographs of @ocrdu and @davidgermano.

Hopefully you now know more about dragonflies!

All photo models (and I as well) very much appreciate your upvotes and support! :)

Author of all pictures - @zirochka

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @zirochka to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 21 November 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

This post has received a 11.49 % upvote from @upgoater thanks to: @zirochka.

This post was promoted with @monitorcap traffic bot & STEEM promotion service.

Send MIN. $1 SBD to @monitorcap bot with your link in MEMO field
and recieve upvotes & resteems for your posts. @monitorcap - where 'seen' matters !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00