Befriend a Farmer Today... Eat Locally. My tribute to the people who feed us. (6 of 7)

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

“The first supermarket supposedly appeared on the American landscape in 1946. That is not very long ago. Until then, where was all the food? Dear folks, the food was in homes, gardens, local fields, and forests. It was near kitchens, near tables, near bedsides. It was in the pantry, the cellar, the backyard.”
― Joel Salatin, Folks, This Ain't Normal: A Farmer's Advice for Happier Hens,
Healthier People, and a Better World

My week-long series of portraits at the farmer's market is almost done.... just one more post and then it's on to other things. I made the image below as a promotional piece for the market... showing how you can find an oasis of peace at the market amidst all the hubbub of the world. It was made by asking the meditator to stay still and then shooting a plate with a strobe on her to freeze her in place. Then I shot a second plate with my 5 "actors" walking in predetermined directions... without a strobe shooting at 1/15th of a second shutter speed to blur their motion. Composited those together in Photoshop and... voila!

melons



capt toss

Mike Hiebert and his wife Sally from Captain Mike's Holy Smoke in Rohnert Park.



"What makes the farmers market such a special place is that you're actually creating
community around food."

– Bryant Terry



jam samples

Sampling jam at the SF Ferry Plaza market.



paul

*Paul Tripp of Hidden Star Orchards in Clement. *



avi

Avi Cohen and his daughter Maayan Cohen of Aviously Delicious Catering in Novato.



goat man

Javier Salmon of Bodega & Yerba Santa Goat Cheese Dairy in Lakeport.



pickle girl

Jordan Champagne of Happy Girl Kitchens in Pacific Grove. Pickles are the greatest way to conserve summer vegetables all winter.



sample man

Gary Alfieri of Alfieri Farms in Escalon.



lady with carrots

Carrots!



“Organic farming has been shown to provide major benefits for wildlife and the wider environment. The best that can be said about genetically engineered crops is that they will now be monitored to see how much damage they cause.”
– Prince Charles



flower buyer

Flowers!



Today's portraits of some super talented chefs who frequent the market....

chef thumbs

Jordan Keao and assistant of Aina Restaurant in San Francisco



chef couple

Tera & Alfredo Ancona of Cibo in Sausalito



“Let things taste the way they are.”
– Alice Waters, chef, author, and owner of Chez Panisse



Thanks for watching.

enter image description here

I have a long history of inventing tools for animators and also making films and photographs. My wife, daughter and I live at the foot of beautiful Mt. Tamalpais on the San Francisco Bay and I've been using technology to tell complex stories for a long time. My biggest claim to fame? Leading the team that created Autodesk 3ds Max... the most popular 3D animation tool of all time. When I sold the Yost Group to Autodesk at the end of the last century I jumped headfirst into pursing my original love... photography and filmmaking. Now I spend all of my time exploring the mysteries of my world with my cameras, and revealing what I find in my images and films.

You can find my verification post here.

Sort:  

Was at my farmers market, today. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43