My experiences getting in to photography in southwest British Columbia

in #photography6 years ago

Because of the dramatic improvements in camera phones over the last couple years, I started to build an interest in photography. I always knew that I lived in a really remarkably nature-privileged area of the world, but taking up photography really started to change how I saw all the places I grew up in. Things like consistent types of lighting in the trees that were good or not good to trying photograph: stuff I had always "seen" but not really seen. 

I mainly started out taking pictures of Burnaby Mountain, where the university I go to is located:







Most of the pictures in this post were taken with a Nexus 6p prior to learning about programs like RawTherapee. Even now, I generally don't have the time to fiddle with post-processing tweaks but I've been trying to shoot RAW just to have better options, in case I happen to catch something worthwhile. I've switched to the Mate 10 Pro after my Nexus 6p fell in the bathtub a few months ago. 

Here are a few more samples from around the Vancouver area:








After getting some encouraging feedback and seeing my work start to appear in some news articles, I decided to try and sell some of these photos on Fine Art America:

https://fineartamerica.com/profiles/1-jordan-barnes.html

This has not worked out for me. I'm not exactly sure what I did wrong with it but I was never able to make any sales from it. If you'd like to see some more of my photos I try to keep these albums relatively up-to-date: 

https://wootcrisp.com/photography/

Thanks for reading this if you made it this far!

Sort:  

Hello wootcrisp! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome to Steem Community @wootcrisp! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hey @wootcrisp! Welcome to this wonderful community!!! You'll meet interesting people here... Write freely and keep steeming :)

Welcome to the community. You have cool photos! You could do well here, just take the time to get to know things and sort out like-minded people. I am not a bot which helps too but happy to give you your first vote! I try to upvote new users everyday (when I can).

Nice van photos and I like the greens... keep up up, I am now following you, feel free to check out my blog too @snowyknight. Cheers!

Thank you kindly! I'm quite excited about all of this.

No worries. Good luck and feel free to reach out if you need any advice. Mentoring new users is a part of the experience so happy to help!

ps. Raw photos are where it is at 100%...

Welcome to Steem, @wootcrisp!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3114 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.18.2 : Post and Support.

welcome to steemit. good luck and great prosperity

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25