Memories On Moratorium: Finally Starting My New Monthly 35mm Film Project

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

About 5 months ago, I posted an idea for a project which, unfortunately, never came to fruition. This idea was called "Memories On Moratorium".

Originally, the idea was to shoot a single, 36-shot roll of film through my camera, one shot every day for a month. Then, once that month is over, that roll would be tossed into a drawer where it waited for film rolls from all the other months in a one-year period, after which they would all be sent to the lab for processing.

I've decided I'm going to start that project today.

I'm heading over to the photo lab a bit later today to pick up a roll of film. I will say, I did decide to change the project up just a bit, and instead of waiting for a full year before processing all the rolls at the same time (which would come with its own fairly large total cost in one lump sum) I'm just going to do it every month so I can post it here on Steemit.

I've noticed that there's an admiration here for the organic nature of film, which I think is awesome. So I'm going to cater to that public interest with this project. If you'd like to keep up on posts like this, please follow me. :)

Below are some of the scanned film images I've posted in the past year.
Thanks for reading.







@jessamynorchard

@giftedgaia - @papa-pepper - @jessamynorchard




Sort:  

This post reminds me that I still haven't finished shooting my roll of redscale film, it's going to be so curly by the time I get it developed.

Oh very cool! Did you get the preloaded Lomo film for that? Or did you load it yourself?

I loaded it myself, really should finish it off once and for all lol!

This post made me look on the shelf where sits a few Soviet era cameras I haven't been using in a long time. There is definitely some warm feelings about film photography.
Anyway - you got yourself a new follower who is looking forward to seeing your works.

"I've decided I'm going to start that project today." Great way to start @winstonwolfe!

Thank you for sharing.

Good luck with your project @winstonwolfe. I saw that you use Wolverine film scanner at some other comment. Are you satisfied with it and how fast it is?

It's not bad. I actually have a thread I posted which kind of goes more in-depth, but it's very fast. It's really just click-next-click-next. It's basically just a camera in an odd little box. So it's about as fast as snapping a photo with a little point & shoot.

Here's the post with more details, some of it is in the comments:

https://steemit.com/photography/@winstonwolfe/my-first-rolls-of-35mm-film-in-more-than-a-decade

These are outstanding.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57451.97
ETH 3105.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32