Memories On Moratorium: A New 35mm Film Photo ProjectsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

For the past few weeks, I've been going nuts over the Instax instant photos, and even considered getting a Fuji Instax 90, which lets you take all kinds of artistic control over the imagery.

Yeah, well...that's not what I ended up getting.

I decided to go back to my roots all together so I snagged a Minolta X-700 35mm film camera with a 50mm f/1.7 lens and a Vivitar 28-90 f/2.8-3.5 lens on eBay.

Sample image of Minolta X-700

Granted, the X-700 wasn't my first film camera, but it was the one I fell in love with. This will be my 3rd one, but the first one for me in 10+ years. I also picked up some color and b/w film from Adorama.

So why did I change my mind about which camera to get?

I was originally very excited about getting a new camera to shoot instant photos, but this made me think hard about the concept of instant gratification. This is an experience I already get with my digital gear. In fact, while I am fascinated with instant film photos and have been having fun with it, the images really aren't that fantastic. They're great for what they are, but even with a bit more creative control, it's really not much more than a $150 toy. Don't get me wrong, I'll probably still eventually get one, but for now that's not the film experience I'm craving.

Image Source

First, I'm going to run a roll of cheap color through it to test it out. If all is good, then I've got a project I think I'm going to use it for. It's not terribly original, honestly. Just a 365-day project to take a picture per day with it for a year. The difference in my project comes with the timing of developing the rolls, which is the meaning behind the name:

"Memories On Moratorium"

Most people who take up projects like this usually do 1 of 2 things:

  • They'll either shoot their roll each month, then at the end of the month get it developed and/or printed and build up the collection all year, month by month.
  • Or they'll shoot all year and then develop everything at the end of the year all at once.

Mine is going to be a bit different.

Instead of developing when I'm done shooting at the end of the year, I'm going to continue shooting and wait yet another year before developing the previous year's film.

So, let's say January 1, 2017 I started shooting the very first roll of this ongoing project(I didn't, but this is just for sake of breaking it down), and I shoot 12 rolls of film all year - mixture of color and b/w.

Image Source

When January 1, 2018 rolls around, I don't develop anything. I just keep shooting and continue into the following year, making sure each month that I'm marking every roll with the month/year they belong in.

Then, when January 1, 2019 finally arrives, all the rolls for 2017 finally get developed, and from that point forward I develop yearly but always 1 year behind - that's the moratorium, the delay.

So why do it that way? Why wait a year?

Image Source

First of all, aside from instant photos like Instax or Polaroid, I haven't shot film since probably 2005. That's 12 years. I've noticed something about myself that I think my generation has forgotten and lost, and that the current generation doesn't have enough direct experience with to really appreciate. And that's an overabundance of instant gratification, especially with the images we capture.

Image Source

We now live in a world where not only can you take an image and see it literally instantaneously, but we can take an unlimited number of them and just as instantly share them with anyone on the planet who's paying attention. It's a part of the future we dreamed about for decades.

Image Source

I feel as though it has come with the unforeseen side-effect of forgetting what true nostalgia feels like. Right now, when people go back through their images they took with their phone, the most nostalgic experience they can get out if is "Hey I remember taking that." And that's because they've already seen it. They're nostalgic about seeing the picture, not necessarily about the moment captured within it.

My goal is to put a year between the last photo taken for the project and the development of its film rolls so that when we see the images for the first time, they're brand new all over again. We've had a year to age, to change. We can truly appreciate the recurrence of those captured moments because we waited so long to see them. They seem more precious to me that way. Nostalgia; baked to perfection.



Sort:  

Let it sit a little - for sure - for example - I like waiting at least a week. Photos look so much better to me after a week. :D I upload all my photos from my phone onto my gmail-drive and sort them from there, downloading only ones I really like. :D Doing so helps me get in that wait time because storing them is so easy :D XOXOX Cheers @winstonwolfe! :D

Right? It's like a good wine. You get your grapes, you make the juice, you get it all ready to go.....but then you have to let it age. I suppose you could pop the top and have a little before then, but it's just not as sweet.

Looking forward to this project :)
I have a roll of exposed film I still haven't developed in over a year, probably should do it when Chinese New Year comes around.

In the same spirit, there's actually a mobile app called 1-Hour Photo that doesn't allow you to see the photos you take with their app on your device for 1 hour. I think that's a great idea. In fact, if they wanted to take it a step further, they could disallow visibility of the photos all together until your prints arrive in the mail with a barcode you scan to unlock them on your device.

Nice I like that idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66041.52
ETH 3064.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69