FIRE POI :: W.W.'s Photography

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This was always my favorite part of photographing any event; the fire poi performers. Most all the events had the ravers who did glowstick poi, but that got boring quick.

Fire is where it's at.


It's a juggle of exposure settings, and things get interesting when you add a flash to freeze the performer while allowing the fire itself to streak through the rest of the shutter drag.


The photos below all had unique settings, but here is the gear I used, and a list of example settings that could be used for such an image:

  • CAMERA: Canon EOS Digital Rebel Series (various models)
  • Lens: Either Canon or Sigma, depending on the image.
  • Shutter: Up to 1 second, not longer. It usually becomes too much beyond that.
  • Aperture: This can vary depending on how bright the fire is.
  • ISO: Between 800-3200

Here's a few of my favorites.






Sort:  

Chance that must not be missed even if you have only a coke bottle as a photographic tool! Well done @winstonwolfe!

Reminds me highly of Beavis and Butthead. lol

Hey i am Umar Usman
and i am new on Steemit i really like your posts
and i am also following you
can you please follow me back
and upvote my last post

here is the link
https://steemit.com/nature/@omrusman/last-night-s-sunset-over-lake-texoma

Thanks
waiting for your response

Awesome photo's!

Great shots @winstonwolfe, forgive my ignorance but what does POI stand for? I could look up on Google, but figured others might have the same question :)

No problem. This should answer your question. :)
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Poi_(performance_art)

Poi. Yassssssss. Love these shots.

Excellent job @winstonwolfe, but please put some exposure data so everyone could see how you did it! Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Please state clearly how would you like to be featured in the “Daily Photo Selection”: with a linked photo, or with link only without a photo. Thank you.

I thought about that, but the settings are different for each photo, and I felt that would flood the post with as many as there are.

No if you just post one general line of your settings, ex: Second curtain (Nikon?) flash, 1/30 sec… or something like that. Just that people had some idea on how aou did it.

Alright, when I get a chance I'll add some basic info.

Great, thank you very much @winstonwolfe. I must have missed to record your answer to the usual question…

Please state clearly how would you like to be featured in the “Daily Photo Selection”: with a linked photo, or with link only without a photo.

Could you state it again please?

If it's all the same to you, I think I'd like to decline the offer to be included in the DPS.

Of course, if you wish it will be so @winstonwolfe. Thank you.

Wow!! Amazing photos! So alive, love it! Thank you so much for posting these!:-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60845.74
ETH 2912.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67