Splashes of Color: Boston's Nor'Easter No. 4: Just Enough Snow To Be Pretty: also Graves

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

RedCoatTN.jpg


Instead of walking to work directly from South Station yesterday, I took the Red Line to Park Street and walked across Boston Common. It's a more scenic route, and it gives me the opportunity to ride more trains.

This was during the tail end of the fourth nor'easter we've had in three weeks. I was grateful this storm turned out to be a dud - in terms intensity, anyway.


Old Burial Ground to the left, Public Gardens to the right. John Hancock skyscraper in the background.

In terms of picture potential, it was a 5/5. The city was muted to near black-and-white levels, so that the occasional splashes of color really popped. Like the violet umbrella above, and the scarlet coat below:

I managed to totally botch this photo of the State House. Why would I hide the iconic golden dome behind bare trees? Still, I like the energy of the lines in the foreground. And the scattered figures make us forget that there's millions of souls within a mile of this point.

There's no color in the next one. That's probably why the lady in the skinny pants is so drawn into the brighter world of her phone.


But it's nice to think that fountain'll be running soon.

Of course, turning around reveals that this place is actually pretty darn active.

Last time, I photographed the cemetery below from the other side. Today, from the center of the commons, it looked more restful. The city behind is almost like a painted backdrop, two-dimensional and fading. While death is eternal.

(Nothing like a little weather to bring out the inner goth. But you can see where the New Englander Puritan religious influence comes from. Future post: were our early settlers this country's first emo-goths?)


The tall building in the left background is completely gutted, and a very active construction site. But it looks restful here.


Left or right? It doesn't matter. All paths lead to the graveyard... (LOL)

I'm pretty pleased with the built in camera of my Honor 7x phone. While I miss the versatility of a physical zoom, the trade-off in portability is more than worth it. And I probably wouldn't have taken out a more expensive camera in this weather anyway. I'd be too nervous about water getting into the mechanism!

OK, got to leave for work now. I'll leave you where we started, at the beginning of yesterday, as I head in for the beginning of today.

Savor your color where you can find it!

Sort:  

Can't lie, glad you got the phone to share these photos, wonderful to wander around another city, a significant city.

Gotta admit I've been a curmudgeon about smartphones for a decade now but I quite like this thing.

LOL "Significant City." I guess there is a lot of history here! It feels like a village compared to New York but it's the perfect size for me.

Bow down before Boston, you insignificant cities!

I'm in Kitchener. I've been to significant cities, Kitchener is not one of them, rather a large town. Boston is a destination, historically important as well as architecturally significant... And Harvard.
I too held out on the upgrade to smartphones till 2013... They are a whole lot of too handy. If you have a decent one, the amount of things you can do with it are astounding.

I guess you are a professional photo grapher because the pictures you clicked is not a common mans work...Really sir you might feel weird that @rajaduttablogs always say good post maybe he is a spammer but sir I swear on my mom your photographs are killing I sended screenshot to my grlfrnd and she was like stunted and said he is professional shooter ....Sir if you are not a trained photographer than hats off too you infinity times because you really did a fav job ....Sir really get a huge bunch of motivation when see such posts really feel like nature is still their somewhere on earth the world is still not polluted half the world is still beautiful ...As we don't see such a scenaric view in India.....By the way I am now more eager to purchase an honor as early as possible for me then after few months for my granny.....
So beautiful post sir just loved it......❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️ Love Love Jai Hind Vande Mataram..

Thank you so much, @rajaduttablogs - your support really means a lot.

No - I'm not a pro. I've never been paid a penny for my photography other than what my posts earn on Steemit. But I have been taking pictures since I was a kid, and back then I had to save allowance money to pay for film and developing, and could only afford to take 24 or 36 shots each week. So I really practiced framing photos carefully and obsessed about getting the exposure just right.

You sound like a kind and talented gentleman yourself. And that's so nice of you to to plan for a phone for your grandmother. I hope your family is very proud of you!

Mention not Sir.... always like reading whatever you write your blogs are so high motivated and strong ....
But your skills are just like a pro... it's so sad to hear that you haven't been paid for such a wonderful shots ...... But never mind sir steemit is the place were your talent won't get wasted at all....
You are snapping pics for a long while that's the reason you are so good at photography...self learned things are better than professional sir so your level is much higher than a pro...Nowadays we don't need to develope but one can do so but it's not mandatory as one can save it in any social media as it's regarded as the best gallery....

Lastly sir I don't know whether I am talented or not but yes people do always say me that I am talented but I agree I am kind hearted because my parents are kind hearted people maybe that quality is blessed from them....And sir I'll be gifting my granny a phone with my pocket money which I have been saving from the past one year... I started saving the money...Since her last year's birthday... I have almost saved Rs. 12000inr for my granny maybe I ll save more Rs. 3000inr in this two months and can easily purchase a honor for her..

Much love sir Jai Hind Vande Mataram.....

The photos are of excellent quality and I must confess I am surprised, I didn't expect Boston to be such a charming place!

Well this is Boston Common, one of the prettiest places in the city. But the mix of really old buildings with new stuff makes the whole place a lot more interesting than most cities. I'll have to get some pictures of the grittier side of things once the days get longer and I have time to walk around more after work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63166.66
ETH 2575.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77