Dolphins at work today

in #photography7 years ago

I work driving water taxis on Queen Charlotte Sound in NZ. You may be able to spot a couple of houses in the photo. They are boat access only and there are about 500 on the sound. Its wintertime at the moment and although its pretty cold and quiet we have some lovely days out on the water._DSC2994.jpg

I took this hanging over the back of the boat with my camera way too close to the water. Took a few shots to get the timing right and make we sure we weren't going to crash at the same time. I had to clean dolphin breath off the front of the lens a couple of times!

F7.1
1/320
ISO200

This happy little dolphin is a Bottlenose (Tersiops truncatus). I have more photos of dolphins if anyone wants to see, let me know in comments.

Sort:  

Yes, please to more dolphin photos. (I hardly ever resteem, but this deserves to be seem by more than 2 lone kiwis.)

thanks kiwideb! I'll find some more pics for you.

would want to swim with one ^ ^
lucky you!
found this at kiwideb's page
she resteemed it :)

If you are ever visiting Picton there is a company that does dolphin swims. The water is pretty chilly though!

New Zealand is so beautiful. I am also using #newzealand to write my trip. I have a question: why New Zealand doesn't have large land wild animals?

We have been isolated by the ocean since before mammals spread globally. We have two native species of bat, these are our only native mammals. There are also fur seals and see lions but people don't seem to count them. When the Maori arrived about 800 years ago they brought rats with them. When the Captain Cook arrived he released goats and pigs. Since then a few game animals were released in the early 1900s, red, whitetail, fallow, sika, and rusa deer, wapiti, chamois and tahr.

Awesome shot of the dolphin that must have been a very cool experience eating this shot

I am a Kiwi Living aboard in the US so will look forward to seeing more of your posts from there

Spectacular photo... I can well imagine what you mean about having to clean dolphin breath off the lens...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63955.44
ETH 2745.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65