The Reality of Children's Fantasy Photography

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

whimsicalyellow.jpg

Speed Edit

Sometimes people ask me why I don't offer these fantasy images for other peoples children. After all what parent wouldn't want art of their child? I have a lot of reasons why I do not do sessions of any type, but for this particular style the biggest reason is, not every child can do this.

I'm sure your kid is cute and everything but it isn't actually about the attractiveness of the child. This is work! We shot this today and spring time in Canada isn't exactly warm. I think the temperatures today had a high of 7 Celsius and there was a bit of drizzle.

She is wearing an adult dress that we had to pin all strange, and she had a wig on. Not the most comfortable stuff, and while she loves the images, wearing a wig is her least favorite part.

leg.JPG

In this particular photo, it looks like she is sitting on a tripod. SHE IS NOT SITTING ON A TRIPOD. DO NOT SIT ON TRIPODS! It is actually the base from a big telescope, which was heavy. It was made to hold more weight than your average camera tripod. While it is pretty sturdy, it is still uncomfortable to sit on, not to mention while being crammed into a bush.
_MG_8063.JPG

My son is totally not into doing these types of images, but he is always happy to be my assistant. Today he stood nearby so that she could reach for him if she felt unsteady. He also did the skirt tossing for me. A much MUCH easier 'job' than modelling.

_MG_8051.JPG
Here she is trying to stay warm while I adjust my settings. The good part is that it really only takes a few minutes when I know the shot I am trying to create like I did today. I don't think she even realizes how good she is at this, because on top of it all she still poses, and has to take direction on how I want her facial expression to be...which is usually calm. Not even many adults can keep a calm face through all this. Yes sometimes I have to combine a few shots like I did here to get a leg in and the hands/face I liked, but still!

Here is the main shot I used. The leg was composited in from another image.
_MG_8080.JPG


I simply could not create an image like this of just any kid. Parents would come to me seeing this level of work, and I would not necessarily be able to deliver that.
vanessa3.jpg

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 04:55:04
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 65.65/100.00
Total Photos: 11
Total comments: 10
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Nice work, I agree with you that in order to create some kind of an artwork or masterpiece as an artist, you have to do exactly the way you want it to be which in this case not all pretty and cute kids can do.

This will be nice fantasy photo. Doing some fx with this will be really nice. I can imagine.

Kids, DO NOT sit on tripods! Lol :)
Brave little girl you've got there. Must have been real cold. The result is gorgeous.

Thank you! I don’t know if I’m being paranoid but I was legit concerned someone would actually try to sit on a regular tripod and get hurt! 🤣😂

No, I think it's a fair assessment of how weird us humans can be sometimes. Better safe than sorry... Good call!

Your kids are amazing ! They seem so mature talking about it all with enthusiasm eventhough it's not something they would've wanted to do on their own. It's obvious they are very supportive of your work.
I also love how your daughter doesn't seem embarassed one bit about looking weird and having to go to that thrift shop to buy clothes or even people possibly laughing at her. Her self-confidence and maturity is very touching and I can tell you're a great mother and that your kids will grow up mentally healthy and happy.

Thank you for sharing, it adds a whole other level of beauty to your art !

I have always raised my kids as humans rather than kids. I respect their interests and they respect mine...The modelling thing hasn’t always been her favourite but oddly the more complex and whimsical the shot the more she is into it...she asked to go out again today and I don’t have a photo idea yet😳. Kids really really do pick up on the subtleties of parents behaviour and I act like Dressing weird and people laughing is no big deal. I never really thought about it till you mentioned it but yeah, they have not only confidence and resilience but a sense of humour about it all as well. It will probably serve them well in their life.

You got a upvote worth $0.03 from @minnowbacker courtesy of @omitaylor !

great result! Nice to hear about the behind the scenes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66052.74
ETH 3320.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69