You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: About Photography: How to choose the right Camera?

in #photography7 years ago

Very useful! About three years ago, I decided to upgrade from my old Nikon D60 (10MP) to a newer camera. I debated going with a mirrorless camera, but that would mean my Nikon lenses would be unusable. So, I settled on a D3300. While visiting Hong Kong, I hit the camera street and the first store I visited, a little hole-in-the-wall place run by an older gentleman, was selling the unit for a very decent price -- as good as online prices. After visiting a few other stores, I went back to the first place and got the camera. I've been a Nikon user since I got an FM in the 1980s, so I suppose it was brand loyalty.

Anyway, I am pleased with my purchase. I use the kit 18-55 mm VR lens, and a Tamron 70-300 mm VR zoom. Eventually, I'll get a lens that fills the gap.

Sort:  

Thanks!
I've only owned a camera for 10 months.

You're a quick learner, I think. Just go out and take photos like mad! I'm old enough to remember using film, and having to worry about running out of frames and spending money for processing. Now I can shoot hundreds of photos, make lots of mistakes, and do my own processing on the computer. Also, today's cameras are much smarter. Even so, I prefer shooting in manual mode sometimes if I want a particular effect or exposure.

I shoot 99% of the time in manual.
I've learned a lot over these months, but still mess up regularly.
Here's my flickr if you want to take a look: https://www.flickr.com/photos/144004577@N03/

When I take touristy kind of shots, or snapshots for remembrance's sake, I'll let the camera run in auto mode. When I want more artsy results, or want to capture the scene as my eyes see it, I'll use manual mode and bracket my shots just like in the old film days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64278.56
ETH 3504.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54