Chorus of Angels

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Imagine you are in a church from the 1900's. You look for a seat where you feel comfortable. You see and empty space and quietly you take your seat to pray and worship. The sun shines thru the painted glass and from the silence you hear a pipe organ play. You hear songs from a choir of angels as if the heavens opened up to comfort you with heavenly voices.


Chorus of Angels

1.JPG

leaves gold.png

2.JPG

From the balcony of the San Augustine Church in Intramuros Manila houses the choir loft. As I walked in the corridor I was overwhelmed by the scenes that surrounded me. The seats of the choir, the majestic pipe organ, the surreal ceiling, the grand choir books and the magnificent facistol which holds the books.


The Facistol also called lectern holds the enormous book for the choir. A piece which was created during the 17th century. It is fascinating to see a simple choir book holder done with so much detail which has turned into an art piece on it's own. Works which we do not see anymore these days. Romanticizing the days from the Spanish Era everything seems to be very dramatic in terms of artistry. Angels adorn the facistol and guarded by Chinese Foo dogs which indicated that Chinese and locals may have worked on this art piece.


4.JPG

The seats of the choir was no exception. Each seat was intricately decorated by hand and I could only just imagine how they were carefully crafted. I could almost see and hear the choir singing just by looking at these seats. Songs which emanates across the church plays in my mind which could almost bring a tear to my eye.

5.JPG

6.JPG

The ceiling is decorated magnificently with a French style art called trompe l’oeil. Designed and painted by Italian artists in the 18th century my eyes were deceived as if I was looking at stone carved decorations on the ceiling. This is something that should not be missed if ever you would visit this church.

7.JPG

8.JPG

9.JPG

The majestic pipe organ which is again from the 18th century and is the most ancient pipe organ in the country. The perfect musical instrument for a church, gothic , grandiose and beautiful.

10.JPG

11.JPG

The choir books also know as Cantorales in which 24 survived out of 30 during World War 2. Made from parchment the process was expensive and required numerous artist to create one Cantoral. Skin from animals like cow, sheep or goat are extracted and from one animal four pages are created. These was made from cow's skin according to the curator. Those who copy the notes and the text are called amanuensis. Each note and text painted delicately on each page creates beautiful mixture of color and detail.


13.JPG

14.JPG

Hymns of the choir which we will never hear but can be recreated. Although we can never tell how they sounded and how it was sang in the past. It's remnants remain to stimulate our imagination as the Chorus of Angels echoes immortality.

15.JPG

leaves gold 2.png


Follow @surpassinggoogle to witness an extraordinary person in this platform and vote for @steemgigs as witness
Discovering exceptional content in the community follow @curie and vote as witness
To have a glimpse of awesome content from the Philippines check out @bayanihan

All photos are original and taken with

Lumix GX85 and 12-32 mm

Snake new 2.jpg

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif]

watersnake101.png

Sort:  

good article and I am interested to read it

I thank you for taking interest in my work.

yes equally, because of the article I also can learn

Amazing architecture, Lovely church You have a genius way of taking photos

Thank you. Your words are too kind. Inspiration comes when you love what eyes captures then stolen by the click of the shutter. A hobby for me which I wish I could do all day.

Beautifully presented. I love the details here. I haven't been here and I want to listen to the choirs sing. As a former member of a school choir, this is surely of interest. I can almost hear the echos and feel that spine-tingling effect. Oh, I miss singing in a choir. Brings back memories.

I am also hearing the echoes in my mind and gives out a feeling of serenity. What part did you sing when you were in the choir?

I was singing melody. When my voice got deeper, I was put to tenor. Harmonizing is tough for me then until now. I can only learn it through others or if someone plays it on the piano. That's why I admire quartets/choir because of how they can harmonize and blend their voices well.

You definitely managed to take pictures of the most beautiful places in this church! I love the architecture, all the earth colours match 100%! and the stone pieces are magnificent!

If you look closely the ceilings are hand painted to make a 3d effect. Pretty amazing from the 19th century art style.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60767.97
ETH 2352.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51