🐝 Busy Bees - Macro photography by w0olf 📷

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hey guys,

today was a very sunny and hot day.
So I decided to go outside and test my new macro extension tubes 😎

Look at this busy bees, working the whole day!

I found soo many bees around in my neighbourhood.
And I´m really glad about it. Why? I will tell you:

Bees pollinate a third of everything we eat and play a vital role in sustaining the planet’s ecosystems. Some 84% of the crops grown for human consumption – around 400 different types of plants – need bees and other insects to pollinate them to increase their yields and quality. These include most fruits and vegetables, many nuts, and plants such as rapeseed and sunflowers that are turned into oil, as well as cocoa beans, coffee and tea. Crops grown as fodder for dairy cows and other livestock are also pollinated by bees. And it’s not only food crops that rely on bee pollination, cotton does as well. As a result, annual global crop pollination by bees is estimated to be worth $170bn.

(Source: theguardian.com)

20170805-IMG_7879.jpg

20170805-IMG_7902.jpg

But beyond their monetary value for maintaining our fragile food supply, bees also make an invaluable contribution to ecosystems around the world. Seeds, fruits and berries eaten by birds and small mammals are all from plants that are pollinated by bees, making them guardians of the food chain and the biodiversity of our species.

20170805-IMG_7858.jpg

20170805-IMG_7837.jpg

20170805-IMG_7871.jpg

20170805-IMG_7853.jpg

20170805-IMG_7852.jpg

Was really fun to observe this little Bee-ple ;)

All this pictures are shot with my canon EOS 500D, 18-55mm Kit Lens and mostly with a 21mm Macro extension tube. (some even with more)

DQmUvrBinBivonX9R2ryLoy7yGkZTzS5rZTQ99yNdfPd9xj_1680x8400.png

What is an macro extension tube?

Extension is the term used to describe the distance that the front element of your lens can be moved forwards. The further forward the element, the closer your lens can focus to your subject.

Extension tubes work by increasing the extension of your lenses. An extension tube is a hollow, light-tight tube that fits between your lens and your camera mount. It moves your lens further from the camera, and the front element closer to the subject. The closer you can focus, the more magnification you get.


Picture source: photographylife.com

I hope u liked this post. I´m happy about every upvote and resteem.
Have suggestions or dont like this post? Tell me in the comments.

Have a great day and steem on! ✌️😉

Cheers,
@w0olf

DQmUvrBinBivonX9R2ryLoy7yGkZTzS5rZTQ99yNdfPd9xj_1680x8400.png

DQmTExCr2XkLNUiXoERBpRa5GHZEUmWqjC6i2i9oibvvBr2.gif

Sort:  

These photos are beautiful, I enjoy a lot to watch bees working, they are wonderful insects. Thanks for sharing these shots. Hope to see more of your work here.

Thanks for taking the time and stop by to watch them! Glad u like them. More work like this is coming! ;)

Very nice pictures. Have taken some amazing pictures of bees myself with my iPhone. Didn't get as close as you, but they are still close-up. I have seen a ton of bees and butterflies pollinating flowers on my daily walks. So I hope that things are less dire than people claim. Or are just getting better.

Thanks @artwithheart! I think it's getting better since people realize how important insects are to us.

Great post @w0olf with amazing photos mate and great information about the bees. I've seen quite a few of them myself this summer, more than in the last few years so let's hope there is a resurgence in their numbers for the benefit of us all. :)

Really liked the photography info and tips as well. I'm really, really new to photography (just using my phone at the moment) but this was great advice. Would really like more of this. :)

Thank you @tonyr! :D I hope so too. In Austria they are repopulating them. There are beehives in nearly every city. Not for making honey, but just for repopulating purposes.
Hope many countries will follow.

More of this will come, glad u like it! :)

wow :O beautiful! The tubes have definitely paid off, looks neat!

Oh yes they have! :D Thanks mate!

These photos are great! Great focus and sharpness, awesome colors:)

Thanks mate! =)

Fun post, thanks!

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

Nice photo. From me upvote.

Thank you @cranium! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44