Lakes on Film - Exploring the Lake District with my Film Camera!

in #photography7 years ago

Hi Steemians! Hope you're all having a great week! Today I would like to share my trip to the Lakes with my film camera!

Scan-141127-0079.jpg

Purple Sunset

Our first night in the Lakes we went down to our favourite spot to relax by the shore! It was such a pretty evening with purple and pink colours lighting up the sky! There were these really beautiful branches in the foreground near the beach so I framed those in the shot and got them in focus instead of the background, I loved how the colours looked in the blurry background! For this little day out I used my Olympus Trip camera with some Kodak film, it's such a small compact camera and looks pretty neat too!

20120904-DSC_0578a-680x451.jpg

PHOTO SOURCE : https://wycameras.com/blogs/news/review-olympus-trip-35

Scan-141127-0080.jpg

There were some brave open water swimmers enjoying this amazing evening in the sun, along with some little ducks and water birds! There was an unused boat on the shore which I really loved and need to get a photo of, however I struggled with framing as the lines were just not straight with the horizon !! It was rather annoying! Whichever way I framed it either the boat or the horizon would be wonky!

Scan-141127-0081.jpg

I was really happy with the colours this little camera caught on film, although they weren't quite true to life they really captured the atmosphere of the scene. That's why I love film photography, although these are a little grainy and I'm sure digital would have done a much better job of dealing with the low light situation it still wouldn't have captured it the same way film does.

Scan-141127-0083.jpg

Sunsets are so magical and this one was really special. The sun was just peaking through the clouds and creating these amazing light beams going through the clouds onto the water. With the mountains in the distance it was such a beautiful scene.

Scan-141127-0085.jpg

Lake Flowers

The next day we went to another Lake to get some more photographs. It was a lovely clear day and quite warm too! While I was walking along the beach I came across these beautiful pink flowers that had been washing up on the beach. They must have recently fallen from a tree into the Lake and washed up stream! They were so pretty and against the water.

Scan-141127-0042.jpg

The flowers all washed up on the shore looked as if there must have been a celebration or something which involved throwing them in the Lake - or so I would like to imagine!!

Scan-141127-0038.jpg

Scan-141127-0033.jpg

The old photographing the new! I love to take photographs of my new cameras with my film cameras, I think in years to come we will look back and wonder why we were using such old cameras and laugh but it captures that moment in time. Cameras to me are so important, they are more than mechanical objects to me, they are with you for all, or most, of the important times of your life and all the amazing travels you go on, they are there to capture it all for you so you can remember it forever, they are priceless, so if some turn out not quite how you wanted it really isn't the end of the world they have still caught that memory.

Scan-141127-0043.jpg

Here is Chris enjoying using his Yashica to get some film photographs too! Always a great shot, also this could be from any year couldn't it?!

Scan-141127-0044.jpg

Beautiful Trees and Flowers

This little camera has amazing focal depth, even when everything was in focus it looked really surreal. And equally if I was using it on a wide aperture it would have a really dreamy affect. Taking photographs of all the blossoms in the Spring is so fun, all the photographs come out so pretty!

Scan-141127-0014.jpg

Scan-141127-0013.jpg

Scan-141127-0017.jpg

Scan-141127-0015.jpg

We came across this really old pretty church and the church grounds had lovely flowers and plants growing in it. I think in this photograph you can tell that it was a lovely warm summers day, I love how film can encapsulate that!

Scan-141127-0020.jpg

I hope you've enjoyed this little day out in the Lakes with me, I can't wait to share more of my travels soon! And if you have any film photography questions please let me know!

Untitled-1.jpg

- Verity x
Photography by me and copyrighted to me!

Sort:  

Where are the Lakes? 🔍

The Lake District is in the western part of the UK about an hour and a half drive North of Manchester :) Easily accessible and is now a National Heritage spot!

Thanks.

How neat is that? :) Love photos #3 and #9.

Thank you so much, good choices!

all pic in Purple Sunset is beautiful ..... such a lovely post ..... new on steemit i am also a photoghapher plz support if you like my posts .... thank you in advance

Thank you and welcome to Steemit I look forward to seeing more of you on here!

My friend is a great blog post! congratulated with wonderful photos :) congratulations. hug!

Thank you so much, hard not to get good photos in such an amazing place!

My analog camera is the Cannon 500n and the Sigma 28-200 lens and it's always used occasionally for taking photos for my soul. Digital technology allows you to better control your photos, because you immediately see what you have taken, but for an analogue, you had to make every effort to make a special effort, because there was no fixing opportunity. Therefore, today almost every photographer can, and sometimes only remain the best. But it's always a pleasure to watch photos from a movie

I agree! I don't use film photography for my professional work but I love using it for personal trips, it also instantly means I will print them afterwards too so they can be kept forever and not lost on a harddrive!

I've been through all the "good" family photos for a long time on paper and in photo albums, because they are always at hand and are much more beautiful

Yes they are so much nicer in paper form!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63566.44
ETH 2483.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67