photography RUMORS - film is not dead !!!

in #photography6 years ago

Yes the title is kind of joke or somehow cynical declaration… this is not a rumor, but our reality – thanks to many activists, film is not dead and unstoppably growing in popularity. recently i found that a few local (Tel Aviv’s) digital photography stores started selling film. In part of them the prices are inexplicably high, but i do believe that some people just don’t pay attention to these prices.

In the same time, sometimes during conversation about photography with different people – photographers and not a photographers, i still hear this phrase – “really, people still use film?” or “is it possible to buy film these days?” or more actual “why to use film?”. Well, someone also asked me to show with a camera display the results of shooting on film. Ok this is funny, but don’t think about me as a film photography snob – started with digital photography and only after few years of shooting i got the beauty of grainy frames, and still use both formats.

So, what with the last question – “why to use film?”. i don’t want to waste your time with the tiresome philosophy about “zen of film photography” and “motivation to slow down the clicks” – everything in our head and possible to make less clicks also with a digital camera. Or, if to say with the words of Abraham Maslow – “if all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail” and photography “Chauvinism” does not look different from any other kinds of chauvinism.

All the images below were taken with Ricoh GR1s on ilford HP5 film and semi-stand developed in R09 Rodinal. scanned with Epson V500 and corrected in Lightroom.

Sort:  

I really often ask myself why I keep shooting film, and very often consider the idea to switch back to digital. But I keep sticking to film. For me I think it boils down to 2 things.

  1. I enjoy the simplicity and variety of film cameras. Looking through a screen, auto-focus (or wired manual focus), and feature bloat are my main concerns with modern cameras.
  2. Black and white film has a unique look you can't really emulate with digital. I am not saying I can easily tell a digitial from a film shot apart, but once in a while I get this very special shot with subtle tones and softness I know I have never seen on a digital photograph, and I that's probably what keeps me going.

exactly ! thank you for your points of view

hello, victor! nice to see you. your BW photographs are really awesome. I also love the original mood of BW photos. :-) take my vote!

thank you !

Film is great!

film is the best !!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 10 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #4! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57207.57
ETH 2995.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26