Shooting with lady tattooer, Alisha Gory at the Bookstore Speakeasy

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

We took to the road, leaving New York behind. Now I would like to introduce you to the Bookstore Speakeasy, located off Adams Street in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. 

In a previous post titled: "Walking through the streets of New York: Late nights & early mornings." I spoke briefly about this location, which was where we had planned to photograph @alishagory

If you're able to sacrifice 1 minute and 6 seconds, then hit play and watch the video footage below. 👇🏼

During the Prohibition ear in the United States, illicit establishments were created to sell alcoholic beverages. These establishments were called blind pig, blind tiger, or speakeasy. Speakeasies no longer exist but the term is still used to describe some retro styled bars. 

I'm glad that I was able to get some nice shots in between styling and assisting.

We had to make a run for stockings and by the time we arrived back on site, the bookstore speakeasy staff started to arrive to prep for the night. Here's @kommienezuspadt helping @alishagory move around some lights.

Everything except the kitchen area and front desk was light by candlelight alone! I watched as Amanda- who manages the speakeasy, spend a little over a half hour lighting the entire building. 

These lamps are gorgeous!

Early on, we both made it clear that we were comfortable with naked bodies. With how limiting time can be with these shoots, there is less room to be bashful. We'd share a laugh at the spying eyes as I'd help her undress and get into the next look. 

This ended up being the perfect setting for a dark moody shoot.

After complimenting the decor, I was told that every single item was purchased from local estate sales. If I could will myself to get up early on the weekends then I'd consider going to one myself. 

I'd love to revisit the Bookstore Speakeasy for fun next time. I hear that they host special events with live music and an assortment of food and drink!

Thanks for checking out this post! 🦊

Sort:  

Beautiful girl and beautiful photos

It wasn't a sacrifice to watch that video :) really like the atmosphere of that place. The vintage look and candles make me want to drink an old fashioned there!

I said it before but I will say it again, love the format of these blog posts. I literally looked at it five times just checking gifs etc again.

Thanks for watching the video!!! I was really happy with it. I also flip through the post serval times to make sure I like the flow. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Gorgeous shots!

that looks like a cool place to hang out!

It's too dark to tell but it's very spacious! I can't wait to go back.

An amazing idea! So cool to see this!

@vermillionfox

Amazing location!!! Man we need to travel more...

Beautiful spot, awesome you guys get to travel and see so many intriguing venues all over America. As for estate sales, they are always interesting, a poor one will have quirky oddities and a rich one will have valuable treasures.

Most of these places are found through recommendations and sometimes we're just lucky! I've been to one estate sale and I nabbed some cool little trinkets. Sometimes I see cool furniture but it ends up being out of my price range or sold because I arrived late.

Love the lighting in the speakeasy. You looked great! Following you

Yeah, the lighting was cool. These are clips and photos taken of our client Alisha. :)

Your trip is so cool!

Thanks! It's always busy but I like busy. :)

Looks like a great gem in Pennsylvania.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69081.27
ETH 3757.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68