A Photography Journey Through My Garden | Macro Lens

This is my second year on taking a chance on gardening. So far, this year has been great, but we are only in the middle of our growing season in Alabama. Below is a few pictures of a few things I'm growing this year.

I'm a very novice gardener and very novice photographer. I like to do both, but have much more room for improvement. I know that Steem is full of some wonderful photographers, like @gringalicious, @isshappy, & @helene just to name a few. I am open for constructive criticism. I'd love to get much better at my food photography and photography in general.

These photos were taken with my Canon 70D with a Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM Lens.

A lovely bee collecting pollen in a lovely sunflower. Bees are friends, not pests.

This is just the beginning of my watermelon patch. I'm hoping to go on a melon cleanse suggested by @tedcarr once they are all ready eat.

The pumpkin flowers are ready to become pumpkins. Pumpkin seeds are are a rich source of magnesium, phosphorous, and zinc, all overlooked minerals in optimizing bone health and preventing osteoporosis.


These are actually some mums that we planted last year for my sisters backyard fall wedding. We had no clue that they would come back, but they are beautiful.

I think this year will be the first year I will try to take on pickling cucumbers. I have an interesting concept for a recipe that I want to try.

Blackberries grow wild in Alabama, but this plant took over 5 years to produce fruit. Well worth the wait.

This herb is called Lime Basil. It is so fragrant and citrusy. I'm going to try to make some sort of tea concoction using it.

Peppermint is one of my favorite herbs to cook with and eat, but also great to keep away the mosquitos from your next outing. I'll be trying this plant soon to have my favorite peppermint tea.

Lavender is great for desserts, but also great for relaxation. It has a very calming effect when inhaled. One of my favorite uses for it is in a sparkling lemonade.

This is a traditional basil plant and it's thriving this year. I'll be making some olive oil ice cubes infused with this fresh basil to have year around. Video on how to do this will be coming soon.


Day Lilys and Daisies are my parents favorite flowers, so this wouldn't be a family garden if they weren't represented fairly as well.

Not pictured above, but thriving in my garden are some tomato plants, kale, peppers, cilantro, shelly beans, lemongrass, periwinkle, and citronella.

Thank you for taking time out of your day to read my post and look at my photos. I hope you have a lovely rest of your day.


Follow, Upvote, & Resteem!

@vegetarianbaker

Sort:  

Beautiful! Upvoted, re-steemed and followed.

I also enjoy gardening and fotography as hobbies and have been vegetarian for 10 years and vegan for the last 4 : )

Here's a recent post about my garden:
https://steemit.com/photography/@veganic/a-short-video-with-the-highlights-of-my-small-garden-in-spring-2017-garden-transformation

Looking forward to more of your content.

wow. very similar. I've been vegetarian for 10 and vegan for 2. ;)

That's awesome! High five : D

Thanks. :) It's been a fun journey.

those are really good ones, i really like them! do you have a big garden?

I have about 1 acre of usable land for the garden. Not enough to be self sufficient on the land.

lilys are one of my favorite flowers and here in the Netherlands they grew like weed. They are all over the parks and gardens (L). if i am honest my garden needs a facelift actually. So i will post today how it looks like right now with some pictures and a description. when my garden is done i will post a new blog. I am already Excited!!

Oh I bet the Netherlands is just beautiful. Never been, but on my bucket list.

Can't wait to see your pictures. Let me know when the post goes up.

Amazing shots that really capture the wonder found in the garden! What a magical place. Ever grown Moon and Stars watermelon? That one is so cosmic!

Thanks. I'm like the way that the photos turned out, but really need to get better at it. :)

What are moon & star watermelon? Never heard of that.

Keep it up! Moon & Stars is a gorgeous and tasty variety that looks like this:

Oh very cool. I've never seen that before. They are beautiful.

That's a lot of good gardening there! Sunflowers are so great for pollinators! I eat the unopened buds of sunflowers. They taste like artichokes. In a lot of climates, sunflowers are easier to grow than artichokes. I'm sure you can cook something with them that is fancier than me! How to Eat Sunflower Buds - 4 ways!. Sunflower bud soup is good!

Oh wow. I had no clue you could eat sunflower buds.

I don't think many people know how good they are. Which is probably better for the flower gardens, lol. But I grow a lot extra, just to eat them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98