Sunsets and time - Memories Part 1

in #photography6 years ago

image

I'm home for 3 weeks after many years and I'm having a very time-travel-like experience.

I went to the boardwalk with my sister and we had ice cream. I remembered the day the opened that ice cream shop, I was 12 and it was the first American ice cream shop in town. It was sooooo fancy.

My sister and I grew up in the midst of a huge contrast between 2 cities. Mexico City, one of the largest urban areas in the world and Puerto Peñasco, a small rural beach town. We moved back and forth many times.
It was funny to us that an Ice cream shop would cause such commotion in the town.

The boardwalk served as market for fresh fish and trinkets for the tourists. A couple artists settled their studios there and some people started small seafood restaurants. And I mean small, 3 tables and everyone knew he cook/owner.

Yesterday as I walked through the buzz of hundreds of people, street vendors and big restaurants I felt intensely the footprint of time.
It's a whole new place, it is now a big plaza with sculptures and buildings, bars, and you can't find a quiet place to stare at the sunset.

I won't try to pass judgement and say what's better or worse. I simply was aware of being in a skin that has experienced the same place in very different..... eras. I felt as if I was many hundreds of years old witnessing the changes of a place in time.

Quiet or not, I still basked in the incredible beauty of nature in this specific point in the planet. I've traveled a lot, and since I was a kid, the most beautiful sunsets I've always seen here. At home.

Sort:  

That is such a sweet story. I feel like that now when I go back to the country town I grew up in. It is like a little city now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61