I created poster for a pole dancing group dancing in the air!

in #photography7 years ago

Some people say they look like angels falling from heaven and some see them going up. I however see it as a commercial poster that I was asked to create for the PoleFlow Ladies.

A charter member of the Ladies contacted me and asked that could I take new potraits of the group because of the old ones have been there for a while and needed some upgrade. They didn´t have any idea how it should look and trusted my vision so I had “carte blanche” to create this artwork.

PoleFlow_Ladies_closeup_1.jpg

My first thought was that I just make trendy series of flour flying in the air to emphasize the movement of the dancers and that I actually did. However on the way home I had an idea to combine this serie of portraits to one piece of digital artwork where this pole-dancing group is surrounded by clouds and having their show on the top of the skylines.

behindthescenes_me.jpg

As I published it, turned out that many of the viewer related it to religion in a way or another. Some said it is sinful piece of a work and some of them think its liberating. Later on I have realized that this picture does have a creative contrast between religious / spiritual thoughts and is also sophisticated way to create vision for the viewers of this not so traditional “pole-dancer” group.

PoleFlow_Ladies_closeup2.jpg

But in the end, its just a beautiful poster of talented pole-dancers..

PoleFlow_Ladies_P.jpg

BTS - video:

Sort:  

Stunning poster! It really shows of their elegance and dynamic movements in a very original way. It almost triggers my fear of heights so it's looking very realistic.

I do get the comparison to angels. They do kind of look like angels because they are dressed in white, elegantly floating high up in the sky and the flour and flowing fabric of their clothes give it an ethereal feel. With some imagination you could even spot wings in there.

At first I thought you had used a smoke machine, but the flour idea is a lot cooler 😁 I once sprayed deodorant in front of a light to get smoke effects.

The video going through some of the layers is also helpful because I am trying to get into compositing myself.

Thank you! Smoke would be nice also but I wanted kind of a "splash" effect when hitting on skin I think it´s more dynamic becouse of it.

Yes indeed, it works really well! It interacts really nicely with the girls. This would have a different look with smoke. Love those unconventional solutions 😁

Your work is amazing! Welcome to steemit!

Thank you so much!

It looks awesome !!

This is awesome! Keep up;)

Thank you! I will :)

This is awesome, great idea and well executed! Look forward to follow your work! :) Helen

Super awesome, definitely left behind the stigma that is unfortunately attached to the art of pole-dancing. Also a great use of the aerial view from the CN Tower!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52