Hiking the Rockies with Beautiful Larch Colors - My Favorite Tree 📷

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Although I never like fall because it only means winter is that much closer, I do love the colors and especially the awesome Larch trees in the Canadian Rockies in the fall. There is usually only about 2 weeks of great colors, and these last two weeks were it, I was fortunate to get about 65km of hiking through these awesome areas and of course, got some beautiful photos on route.

ImageText

These were all just starting to turn up by Rockbound lake yet they sure made an awesome contrast with the towering black rock walls up behind.
ImageText

A few scattered larch below the upper headwall hadn't seen as much cooler temperatures yet, so they were still pretty green, like this one.
ImageText

ImageText

Up above the headwall at the upper lake however, they had mostly turned yellow and some truly towering larch up there.
ImageText

It had snowed overnight but warming up fast, so most of it had melted.
ImageText

Awesome skies in the morning before the clouds rolled in later in the afternoon.
ImageText

Cool Larch Facts...

Some of these huge Larix Lyalli species, or Alpine Larches are as big as this species gets, up to 25m tall. What's really cool about them is they can be incredably old. The oldest tree in Canada is a Larix Lyalli in Kananaskis and has been dated as 1943 years old! WOW! They just look ancient compared to all the other trees around them.

ImageText

So, had some great photos of these old beast and I thoroughly enjoyed their ancient company.
ImageText

Please follow to catch more photosets and as always, would love your comments!

Sort:  

Fantastic photography! I hope to see more from you. I occasionally post a few myself, feel free to check my blogs whenever you find time.

Thanks I will check it out firepower.

Amazing pictures.
the trees look as if they are alive

thanks covals for the comment, the colors sure do make them vibrant!

Great shots!
We hiked up to Minnestimma Lakes by Moraine Lake 3 weeks ago and unfortunately the weather wasn't cooperative. Did get some great fog shots though

hi @daveks, I thought you'd be out for your early trip this way. ya, I've certainly had some fog on hikes as well, but a lot better than the smoke from a month or two ago. This whole area of lakes/larches are pretty awesome in the fall, that for sure, glad you made it out to again for some more scenery!

Great post and beautiful, crisp captures. I was going to say that a tree from 1943 is old, let alone one that is 1943 years old!!!

Up-voted and re-steemed.

thanks cognoscere, I'm really happy with these last few weeks of photos, and some crisp processing and time spent getting just the right shots. As for the tree, I thought the same at first, that 74 was kinda old, but yes, nearly two thousands years old! Crazy. I wish I knew the age of some of the trees in my pics, but I'm sure some of them are quite a few hundred years old as well, some are just huge and looking ancient. pretty cool!

WOW!!!!!!!!
Such a fantastic photography in the world. It looks live environment.
100% likes.

thanks for the comment, an awesome place to visit and photography for sure!

tumblr_mnh0mtybat1rnwugoo1_500.gif

Upvote/ Resteem

haha, another gif, OK this one seems a little creepy to me.

@unipsycho,
This is the first time I saw this tree! That's wonderful! You are making me crazy day by day dude!

Cheers~

glad to share it with you then @theguruasia. Its an awesome tree, I've planted 3 Larch trees (tamarack species) on my property, since I really enjoy them.

must be an awesome experience. Great photos.
Cheers!

Thanks dinsha, sure was!

amazing photos babe followed and upvoted <3

@unipsycho - Oh my goodness, Sir it's beautiful <3 Love it & nice you decided to share it Sir <3

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59