Rock Climbing at Porcupine Creek 📷

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Just a month and a half ago I was exploring the ice falls in this valley, and now its hot and a beautiful day for rock climbing!

This is a close by and small rock climbing spot we used a season opener a few weeks ago to get our minds back into outdoor climbing mode, since mostly boulder training indoors through the winter.

ImageText

My all around everything pack, its big, comfortable, super light and can carry the huge loads for climbing or backpacking or shrink right down for day hikes to a tiny compartment. Plus, it looks good on this mountain background!
ImageText

A pretty awesome view on the short hike in. I love the clouds in this!
ImageText

First shot from the wall, after my first short climb. Sweet to be back on the rock!
ImageText

I always love the great views from up on the sides of a canyon wall. A great perspective when rock climbing!
ImageText

Built an anchor up top and lowering back down with the top ropes set for my climbing partner to make a quick ascent as well.
ImageText

This rock rib is one of our next climbs, and my favorite of the day. It was super hard and consistent grade the whole way up. I need a take in 2 spots, but completed it without falling. I'll have to go back and tackle it clean and then on lead. A good challenge!
ImageText

ImageText

Another great panorama from the valley walls.
ImageText

After a bunch more short climbs, we did this wall last and it was the hardest of the day. Had quite a few tough moves and difficult holds with wide traverses away from protection, which is always nerve racking. Got it on top rope and my climbing buddy did it nicely on lead. Was a great day and we headed out feeling warmed up for our next and more difficult day on the rocks.

ImageText

I hope you liked this photoset! I'll get another post of the next climbing day up soon as well!
Please follow to see more mountain panoramas and mountain adventures!

Sort:  
Wow, incredible @unipsycho

Very jealous to see you do that. I love nature and mountains. Looks like you can get through that hurdle easily.
Greetings from me... Good job :)

Hey thanks Steemvest17, ya I'm super fortunately to live close enough to be in the mountains every weekend. I love it!

Looks crazy! :) @lavitaebella

these are some great photos, esp like #2 and #3

Thanks! I had forgotten to make them clickable to see the large versions, so I just fixed that. Yes, I like those 2 panoramas as well.

just clicked...WOW!

wow ! I should come climb in Canada and in USA... It's a very impressive place... I a couple of month I'll be in "Laste", in the north of Italy: another great place for climbers!

photo

ps: have a look at my last post about Dolomites!

THanks fmd, great shot there as well. Nice lighting, I guess that's not all natural with a flash or something.

I like these. Where is porcupine creek? In one of the national parks?

This is in Kananaskis country in Alberta, Canada. Its nearby the town of Kananaskis as well.

Awesome photos! My Osprey pack is jealous.

haha, nice. Mine might be jealous of yours, I do kind of abuse it a little. From heavy use, wear and tear, its life will unfunately be shorter than most osprey packs. But then again, its doing what its mean to do, so is probably happy at that! A well lived short life if better than a long crappy one right!

Exactly!

Lots of nice photo, what's a climbing!

Congratulations @unipsycho! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64176.22
ETH 2624.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78