Mountain Unicycling Before the Snow Flies 📷

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Was doing some business travel this week, so never had a chance to post this, but last weekend I was able to get out just before the snow started flying and a deep cold front set in.

The nice thing is that I was able to get out for another mountain unicycling day with some old and new friends to a trail I've never done before. The weather was awesome and just a couple degrees above freezing, but no snow on the ground where we went, which made for an excellent riding day. I hope you enjoy the pics!

Note: Click the images to view larger versions.

The slab sections on this trail were just amazing to ride. Super grippy, but also very steep so a good challenge to ride!
Mountain Unicycling

Most of the trials was thick forest like this, with bridges and ramps, like you see see down the trail.
Mountain Unicycling

While we had some nice sections of sun, the white wall of snow was slowly approaching over the mountains from the west.
Mountain Unicycling

I always love how the mountain unicycle looks when balanced out in the wilderness!
Mountain Unicycling

Here's the group of us four riding down a piece of that slab sections near the end of the trail. Super fun!
Mountain Unicycling

I'll be coming back to ride these again next year as they were a real treat to ride.
Mountain Unicycling

Through the woods was all kinds of obstacles and ladder bridges, needing some definite skills and courage to ride up over them with 4+ foot drops on either side.

Mountain Unicycling

Trying to catch a little air over this ramp of rocks.

Mountain Unicycling

Hopping over some rock piles.

Mountain Unicycling

A few more classic pics from the day.
Mountain Unicycling

Mountain Unicycling

Mountain Unicycling

It's now been -20°C all week, with more snow so not sure when I'll get my next ride out there, but I'll certainly be hiking again soon. I hope you enjoyed the pics.

Past Photo Sets

I hope you enjoyed these photographs, here are a couple of my previous mountain unicycling photography sets:

Sort:  

I haven't been on a unicycle in about 35 years. Way cool post as usual @unipsycho. Steem On Dude!

Hey thanks runridefly. I've not been riding them for 35yrs yet, but getting close. haha

Thanks for the trail ride!

hey thanks shenanigator, well that explains a lot. People do typically always get out of my way when i'm riding. maybe its my flailing arms and wobbly approach ??

How do you it amazing upvoted!

simonjay, 28 years of practice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61840.18
ETH 2589.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55