Hiking Mount Opal - Kananaskis, Canada Part 2 📷

in #photography7 years ago

So this continued photo series from part 1 shows some of the pics getting up the mountain to the alpine meadow and the final talus slopes up to the ridge saddle for the awesome upper traverse.

The slope up Opal mountain is a very steep one. 1001m in under 3km, but the good thing about this is you get up fast to some incredible views, awesome mountains on either side and some beautiful landscapes.
ImageText

We were lucky to have some clouds, both for the photos as I love how they cast down on the land, as well as for some shade to keep the hike a bit cooler.
ImageText

Looking back we have now gained a lot of the altitude up the rocky, skree covered approach.
ImageText

The rocky approach has a very short section where things flatten out and open to some excellent meadows, full of sunshine and flowers.
ImageText

Its an awesome view here on these steep mountains and the open valleys and peaks here are just the start of some even more impressive views on the other side of the summit!
ImageText

This is a view of the flattest section of the approach and even it looks a little daunting. :) That is because it is, this mountain is relentless and not for any beginner hikers. We head up the middle of the photo through some large skree/talus where the possibility of rock fall will keep you on your toes. If something starts to roll up there, it doesn't stop, including a person!
ImageText

The colors along this range are perfect and I hope this captures it well.
ImageText

And for early summer, the flowers are sure blooming well, putting even MORE color to the landscapes with their tiny flowers in these alpine meadows.
ImageText

I thought here a little depth of field and bokeh on the flowers, could really show their colors, and it worked well I think with the mountain backdrop!
ImageText

I leave you with one more shot in this series, before making the approach to the rocky summit and ridge. I hope you've enjoyed this series and stay with me with a follow if you don't already, for the next set soon!
ImageText

As always, you can click my photos to see large versions and please take a moment to comment, follow and let me know your thoughts!

Sort:  

very very nice niew

thanks so much, yes this place really is incredible for the views.

Nice view, upvoted

thanks for the support

Really cool :) I admit to a love hate relationship with my hiking poles on steep slopes on the way up. In the end I usually end up using one choked up short just in case...er well you know...
The wildflowers are really nice too.

I love my hiking poles up and down, helps save the legs as much as possible. Unfortunately I snapped on my poles on this hike, running down some great scree for the next photo op of course. I am going through a set every year or two it seems, of course with 600km per year of hiking, I spose that is not unreasable.

Ah makes sense. I don't break mine so far but I do bend them in the talus catching them in the cavities. One thing I have recently realized is that I should always bring both. Strained a hip flexor Yow!, man when a leg goes down I need all the help from my upper body that I can get to get back...

@unipsycho,
You made me crazy! I like hiking and I like to live on the top of the mountain (yeah I know it's not possible). That's the dream of mine. Your hiking experience really makes me crazy and I think I will arrange a tour. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the community. And great photography as well.
Awaiting to read your next article as well.

Cheers friend~

thanks the guru, I hope its crazy in a good way. haha :) Nothing beats sleeping up in the mountains, I will give you that. I'm way overdue for some overnighters, so need to get one planned soon myself.

@unipsycho,
"Nothing beats sleeping up in the mountains", I had this experience few times in last couple of years. So, your posts keep reminding me those dreamy nights. As a result of that going crazy in a good way :D

nice, glad to hear it!

Following! Up voting too! than you for sharing this

right back at ya, thanks!

Beautiful photos @unipsycho? What camera did you use?

Thanks cryptodog, This was my samsung NX200 with standard lens and UV filters.

Wooooow is looking great ,I think it was hard, but it's all worth it for the view ^_^

totally agree, the views are often better the hard the hike is to get there! Thanks.

And I liked the ski resort.

In the immediate vicinity of Toronto (about 130 km) there is a ski resort - Blue Mountain. It is located in a fairly nice place near the lake Huron. I liked it there very much.

Firstly, the mountain itself was not so small, with enough tracks. Secondly, I liked that at the bottom of a well-developed infrastructure with the availability of restaurants and hotels.

Beautiful view! The flowers reminded me of a hike at "três picos" in nova friburgo - rio de janeiro. A place with 3 montains where i found a beautiful hidden natural garden. No pics unfortunately. Only memories.

These pictures make me want to hit K country bad, hopefully next month

thanks mate, I hope you are able to. I'll be out there plenty as well, with more photos to post. probably do a few nights out as well. I hope to get some night hikes in also, but photos are never great with night hikes, but the experience is AWESOME!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80