Hiking Mount Opal - Kananaskis, Canada Part 1📷

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I wanted to share some photos from a couple weekends ago, where I got out to hike one of my favorite mountains in my area. Mount Opal is one crazy steep climb, that is 1001m of altitude in about 3 kms of distance, so its incredibly steep consistent climbing to reach the summit.

I think you will see why I love this mountain so much, the scenery is VERY tough to beat and it opens to one incredible valley in behind the range, so lets start with some of the photos and panoramas on the approach.

So, the day was perfect weather and great skies with puffy clouds which I always prefer for photographs.
ImageText

The first big ledge we've got an amazing view already of the range accross the valley. The road is down below, luckily its just out of sight from the ledge.
ImageText

Up above this ledge, the flowers had started to show themselves, as we emerged from the forest and into the alpine. I loved the colors and lichen colors with these rocks.
ImageText

Some more orange lichen and plants emerging from the rocks.
ImageText

So, here we are looking up at our approach ridge. The route is up the left side over the false summit and then up a upper gulley to what appears to be a low saddle in the center of the picture below. The summit is the peak just right of center and then the ridge heads out to the right for several kms, which I'll get to some photos at in later parts of this series.
ImageText

The valley and creek is a dangerous gulley with many cliffs and drops, not suitable for any hiking. The left ridge is our approach up towars the upper ridge traverse.
ImageText

I'll post more series of this when I have a few more moments, I hope you liked this first set.
update: See Part 2 here

Sort:  

@unipsycho,
This is an amazing post friend! I love hiking and you made me crazy!

Thanks for sharing this great experience!

Cheers~

thanks so much guru for the comment and nice words.

You are welcome @unipsycho, and waiting to see your next hiking experience as well.

Cheers Friend~

That view is great! Going there myself and cant wait to go out hiking!

awesome @thephotoguide, hope you have some great adventures when you are there!

I think I will! Thank you :)

wow
such breath taking pictures.... I want to go there too now

ya, the place is a beautiful area, no doubt.

Gorgeous images indeed. Makes me wish we had some proper mountains around here.

I don't know what I would do every weekend without them. thanks for the comment!

My pleasure.

amazing

amazing nature, it leaves you breathless, thank you for this post !

you're welcome fany.kru, if the altutude doesn't leave you breathless with such a steep climb, you are right, the scenery sure will!

Great photos! Ah, 30 percent slope continuously...I like those...getting right down to it...ouch! :)
Is this the Opal Range? Taking a guess...
Screenshot 2017-07-07 07.28.08.png

Really great post ! :)

Thanks @throughmyeyes. That is the range, but its quite long, we were further north on it. See below, the red OPAL is this hike, and I've been there for a few others I marked as well. The views on the east of this ridge are pretty incredible all along it. I'd like to through hike the valley the whole way some weekend. (click for large view)

ImageText

Ah cool! Would you hike the valley to the East of Opal or near Rt 40. The valley east of Opal looks interesting with some tricky saddles near Packenham and Evan Thomas.

This are realy awsome Photos mate!

upvoted & followed :)

thanks so much, back at ya!

What a fabulous place to go for a serious hike, and for some great photo opportunities. How lucky you are to have this scenery on your doorstep.

I couldn't agree more, I'm very thankful for the beautiful areas I live nearby.

Love to hiking once you post these kind of pictures, these are simply awesome my friend. thanks for sharing your journey with us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68289.77
ETH 2645.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70