Bryant Lake Hiking - Part 2 📷

in #photography7 years ago

These were the pictures hiking up to the last ice of the summer on my Bryant Lake hike, which I had part 1 photos here.

NOTE: Click images for large views!

This first photo is the wide view of the last remaining ice on this hike. For scale, you can see my hiking buddy in the bottom right, its a LOT larger than it first seems.

ImageText

HDR (High Dynamic Range) Images

So, here I was able to crawl in the awesome structure underneath which has all melted away. You can see the roof now dripping away inside. it probably only has another day or two left at these temperatures to completely melt away.
ImageText

What the? how the heck did yiou get inside that giant snow bank? haha
ImageText

Ha, lettme outta here! Actually, I had to be careful here since if I touched the snow too hard, it was possible to all collapse on me since the roof was only 6-12 inches thick still.
ImageText

From inside, with some HDR shots again, you can see the cool melt holes that are giving an awesome window view to the mountain side. Pretty Epic spot, was VERY cool and refreshing in here as well.

ImageText

Another cool HDR with the sun in contrast on the rock's wall with the ice still as well.
ImageText

Here you can see many of the water streams and drops coming down from each of the cones. 10 minutes under here and I was soaked and refreshed nice and cold for the hike out.
ImageText

So, time to crawl out and head home. Pretty cool place (in more than one way) which was totally unexpected to find, which is often the most memorable part of a mountain adventure.
ImageText

As usual, please follow and I'd love to hear your comments

Sort:  

Very cool!! Super Yunky even!!
I scrolled through your blog real quick and MAN, you have done some awesome traveling! I love hiking and camping, so I am a little jealous!
Canada is such a big beautiful country during the summer time!
I camped and kayaked many years ago in Killarney Provincial Park in Ontario, it was so awesome!!
Anyway,
Thanks for sharing!!
Peace!!

Hi em3, thanks for the comment! Ya, my weekend adventures are quite fantastic and its awesome to live so close. Killarney is a great park, I was there many years ago!

Upvoted and RESTEEMED :]

great, thanks and that is much appreciated!

@unipsycho,
That's amazing! Actually I feel scary about that thing. Anyway this photography seems an incredible shot! Really like that!

Thanks for sharing your amazing experience with us!

Cheers & waiting for the next one~

Sweet hey! Ya, I love that photo as well. Just a hand held HDR photo but it sure turned out to get that awesome texture from the rocks and ice together. Thanks!

Woow man you found something awesome, i really like this pic

Thanks dim753, ya that is my favorite from under the ice as well, that and the one with the hole peeking out to the mountain sky.

Some truly amazing photography! I didn't even see your buddy in that first image until I zoomed in, the ice was way bigger than I initially thought.

Ya so true, it was a stitched panorama that one as well from about 8 photos since it was so much bigger than it first appears.

That looked a little dangerous!

Yup, a little for sure. I've ventured into much scarier holes and caverns and caves though. Caves of any sort are kind of my nemesis (since I just can't resist them in any way) in the wilderness, they always seem to draw me in and put me at risk. Luckily, its usually a calculated risk with precautions though. Often just getting to them is the sketchy part though, not the inside!

Amazing shots and beautiful landscapes @unipsycho! What camera did you use? You took those photos like a pro. I hope I can visit that place someday. Kudos to you!

Thanks so much george, ten of thousands of photos in the wilderness has helped teach me thing or two about capturing the moment. Love it as well! My camera for this was a samsung NX200 mirrorless.

Tours like that rock. Thanks for going there, so I can see the adventure.

Thanks for the comment, it was my pleasure to do so and glad you enjoyed it!

what amazing photos thank. you so much for sharing! What an incredible experience this must have been!!! I am a photographer currently in Costa Rica. No snow or ice to be seen! haha
Following

Thanks sallybeth23! Yup, an memorable experience for sure! Fun place to be and to take photos at! Ya, no snow there for sure. Still haven't been to costa Rica, but on my list for travels for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56