Adventures out Mountain Unicycling - Finding a Slot Canyon! 📷

in #photography7 years ago

It never ceases to amaze me how many wonderful places there are to find and explore in the wilderness. Yesterday was no exception, I hadn't looked up anything or mapped out this trail, but I had explored the Nahahi ridge many times and had the greatest ride of my life coming down it on my mountain unicycle a few years ago. It was way to hot to head up on the ridge, so I decided to go past and see if I could ride some of the Nahahi creek down in the valley, but had never been in that area yet.

So, the trail luckily had a tiny bit of water at the junction of the river I followed out (elbow river) and so I was able to soak my gloves, shirt, head band to stay cool on the ride up the steep creek valley.

About an 30 minutes out and voila, what do I come across, but this AWESOME slot canyon. I figured it would be great to hike up past, finish most of my ride and then come back down and see if I could get though it and hopefully ride through some of it even, since everything was bone dry.

ImageText

Quite impressive smoothed rock by what obviously flows well other times of the year, but its too dry now, not even a trickle.
ImageText

It was actually pretty big canyon area, several hundred meters long and most of it, just a few meters wide, pretty typical in this area for these slot canyons to carve out.
ImageText

So, I got lots of glimpsed of the canyon as I rode higher up the stream from the upper trail.
ImageText

OK, so when I finished the rest of my ride, ate lunch in the woods and came back down, I knew I had to drop down and see if I could make my way through the canyon. Time to lower the uni and drop in myself.

Times like these I'm glad I have lots of rock climbing experience, just in case I need those skills to get through or find an alternate way out.
ImageText

Perfect light, shadows, and some decent rideable sections actually. Nothing very long of course, but I can't say I've unied in a slot canyon before! SWEET!
ImageText

Gotta love all these water carved overhangs.
ImageText

I actually brought a little micro tripod with me for filming in the woods on this ride and it worked perfect, there were a few little holes in the sides of the walls here and there, and I has able to hang my tripod leg in them to hold a couple wall mounts. I wish I had another camera to take a picture of that setup! Another first!
ImageText

A few good drops I had to staddle and bridge the sides to get down. Had to just drop the uni down a couple, but it can easily survive that, it's been dropped thousands of times down much worse actually. lol.
ImageText

Hard to tell scale sometimes, but this is a bent section of canyon in a super wide panorama shot, so you can see the upper and lower bits. Couple of logs thankfully for climbing up and down these sections, they would be much more difficult on just the smooth rock.
ImageText

Seriously cool and fun place. For a hot day, it was great to drop in this cold canyon since the rock dind't get any sun, it was very cold from over night lows.

ImageText

So, I hope you liked the photos from my little adventure. As always, I encourage you to click any photos for large views of these, to see the couple movie clips I took here below and to get on out there yourself for a hike, a ride, whatever kind of adventure you can find yourself! Be safe.

Video File

Sort:  

Beautiful cave... Following u sir.. For more

thanks, me now as well. Love your photos and screen name!

@unipsycho,
This location... best fit to a movie... actually if you not decided to posting this, I will think this is just a movie location (artificial one). OMG I can't believe it, it seems like a small river few hundreds years ago and now it's just a beautiful landscape. This world is amazing and you - the @unipsycho is revealing those beautiful, and unbelievable nature beauties to the world through STEEM community!
Thank you very much for sharing such great photography with such high level travelling experience with us! Really appreciate your effort and I wish I can do something like this too :)
I love hikes, but have no time for that :/ That's a shame :/

Cheers dude~

Thanks again for the great comment @theguruasia, always appreciate your words. Well, I agree, these world has some amazing places, I am furtunate to live in a place with so many and I'm always thankful to take the time and explore it. I hope you get a chance to find some hiking time, its a great worthwhile time for sure!

@unipsycho,
yeah I did one hiking and one of my friend has posted those experiences, so I didn't got a chance for that! Actually this is great, but I have very limited time and sources to do it :/ So I like the way you live... that what I wish to call as "THE LIFE"

Cheers dude need more travelling experiences...

Great pics but i'm still stuck on the unicycle part.

Rocks are so clean and shinny because i guess water used to flow through that tunnel rocks. Amazing view by the way,

That's right, the spring time melt would have this place 20 feet underwater and super dangerous! hot and dry here lately though so its all dried up!

omg this is really great. what a beautiful adventure

thanks for the comment and stopping by, it was an awesome adventure for sure!

I have followed u now.. don't want to miss ur posts

thank you akareem, follow you a swell, you have some nice photos I see!

@unipsycho - I love this place. That's an amazing experience. You looks smart too sir.

+W+

Thanks steemwija, it was most excellent. Most people say I look crazy out on a mountain unicycle, but hey, smart, I'll take that instead! lol

Never get bored of watching the beauty of nature. Amazing view!

I totally agree, sometimes I just sit out there are stare in amazement. At least until a horsefly or bees comes by, bites me and gets me back to reality! nothing like some good nature based day dreaming, right!???

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Aug 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $17.38 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Aug 14 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Wow, that is an incredible looking slot canyon! Great find!
Can't believe you get around on a uni-cycle! Balance!!! I prefer two wheels myself.
Keep up the great work!

Very impressive! You did all that on a unicycle. Amazing story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64