\\original// Landscape Photography Blog #3 - More mistakes to learn from

in #photography7 years ago (edited)
  • Location: Mangawhai, New Zealand

Hey there people,

Lets be honest - I'm an amateur. I make mistakes, Lot's of mistakes, All the time - But that's not an excuse to be sloppy.
What happened today was inexcusable. I arrived at the location, only to find out I have 2 flat batterys.
For me it was very disappointing moment. I had to pack up my things and simply go back.

BUT... I did manage to take this panorama before the camera died on me!

panorama.jpg

Its the first time I tried this technique, taking 3 vertical photos and merging them in Lightroom. Probably can't see much difference here, but the details are incredible if You zoom in to real size:

real size.jpg

And I'm quite happy with the result!
Overall not a completely wasted day, despite the bloop - let's see what tomorrow brings.
I was thinking wether or not to go in-depth with some more details on technicalities like camera settings and so on, if You would like that, let me know.

Episode #2 is here

Sort:  

We have all done similar things - makes life interesting! Great you rescued part of your day and gave us this wonderful story and sequence.

Yup, don't think i'd wanna live a life where everything goes my way all the time! would be boring :)

At least you had your memory camera (ie, your eyes) with you. Memories are far more valuable than photos. To compare with your experience, I went on a whale watching tour - took hundreds of amazing pictures only to realise that I had turned of the option for the camera to check the memory card was inserted - and I had forgotten to put one in. :)

wow, I can't imagine my reaction if it happened to me :) You are right of course, but for me the purpose of going out to this location was only to photograph, so it was a lesson in flexibility of the mind. hope I can do this switch more easily

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59220.04
ETH 2316.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51