The Beauty That Surrounds - A Celebration Of The Olive Tree

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

P_20190730_175134.jpg

I went for a walk this evening all by myself, what a luxury it was to be able to walk at my own pace and I swear I felt lighter without my girls. I do love to go for walks with them, but I also treasure those moments I have by myself. I took a different route tonight, just letting my legs carry me and this is where they carried me too. This majestic Olive tree.
P_20190730_175035.jpg

This is the view from the back and I was able to walk through the gap you can see. The light was just perfect reflecting the branches and leaves off the bark. This tree is at least 500 hundred years old and probably a lot older, due to the thickness of the trunk.
P_20190730_175203.jpg

Can you see the heart, in the picture above . This tree was so gnarly, the texture and beauty of it just blew me away. Everywhere I looked I saw these amazing shapes and I longed to be able to hear the tales that I am sure it holds within.
P_20190730_175216.jpg

I can only imagine what this tree has bared witness too. How the times have changed since it stood here. I never realized how majestic Olive trees could grow, when they are left to do so in the wild. What a wonderful thing to see and to remind us all that we need to embrace our wildness so that we grow to our full potential.
P_20190730_175238.jpg

Looking up, I longed to scale these branches, to see the view from the top.
P_20190730_175331.jpg

And here I am inside this beautiful tree, with the sun framing me from behind. I have not had many opportunities to stand inside a tree, but when I have it has been very humbling.

P_20190730_175011.jpg

It is so important to make the time to lose yourself in nature, to let it sweep you up off your feet, allowing your imagination to run wild.



8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp




DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

what a lovely tree!!! I could get lost in that, with all the crevices and bumps, textures, colors, the scent lingering.. you must take more photos of that when you can!!! i'd love to be inside that, like a small tree gome ecsconsed in his habitat, sucking on leaves and crunchy sticks!

thank you @torico, I will definitely go back, I would love to take some shots with a proper camera. One day I will write a story for my girls about that tree xx

Man, what a tree!!! I am always in awe of olives and how long they live for. I was pruning mine yesterday, after a few years their trunks are already getting thick. i need to get some chook manure to fertilise them, i forgot last year and they didn't do as well on the fruit front.

it really is so amazing and magical. Most olive trees have one good year and one bad when it comes to baring olives xxx

I absolutely love old trees an also find myself wondering about all they have witnessed in their long lives.

Posted using Partiko iOS

yeah the stories they must hold, this one was so beautiful xx

Retreating int nature is the best, great photos of magnificent tree @trucklife-family.

I've seen some truly astounding olive trees on y travels in Greece - they are beautiful beyond words. It's no wonder the bible uses them so often as a metaphor. Delightful post, my dear.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

thank you my friend, I can imagine there are some majestic ones in Greece, I am really blown away by there beauty xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32