Testing the Zoom of My New Camera by the Moskva River

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

I traveled to Moscow just a few weeks after acquiring my new camera, a Panasonic DC-TZ90 with an Optical Zoom of 30X.

Being my first time in Russia, I didn't know what to expect and I was a bit afraid of bringing the new camera, as most capitals of Europe are usually dangerous because of thieves who target tourists.

Rome and Paris are perfect examples of this but even our own Lisbon, here in Portugal, has a high number of these thugs.

I decided to bring the camera anyway. I could always leave it at the Hotel, if I felt the city was unsafe.

Boy, I am glad I took it. I had several chances to play around with the incredible Zoom feature of this compact but powerful camera.

Here's a situation where I could test it to the extreme. The following photos are taken from the exact same spot.

This first shot was taken without any zoom.

1dijigtdiu.jpg

Then I zoomed in so I could fit the whole middle building in the frame. I could see a bit of smoke coming out from the public park in front of it.

I wondered what that smoke was...

0gb79mubzq.jpg

So I zoomed a little more. And I could see two guys preparing some kind of barbecue.

i6clb9t04r.jpg

Impressive Zoom already... But my camera was able to take it even further. I was able to zoom until I could almost see the white in their eyes! Amazing.

9turjgpl0b.jpg

My other camera can do a 5X Optical Zoom and I knew this one was better... but even so, I was pleasantly surprised with the results. I had no idea that there would be such a huge difference between both.

72xiwzyqa3.jpg

This is my first Panasonic camera and I am very happy with it. Sure, it doesn't fit in a pocket like my Canon Ixus 210 but its quality and capacities are on a whole other level.

What about you? What kind of camera do you like to use and why?


CameraPanasonic Lumix DC-TZ90
LocationMoscow - Russia
Original, Untouched Photos

@trincowski signing out.

Sort:  

Wow...that is completely crazy how close up you can get from so far away.

It sure is. And I was holding it myself. With a tripod the result should be even better. 😊

Oh wow! Looks like digital binoculars or telescope!

Yes, that's exactly how it feels! When I opened the box I saw this little thing:

image.png

I was caught off guard when the camera did this: 😂

image.png

Haha! Super! I have seen on youtube people can use it as real telescope shooting lots of details of the Moon and even Mars can be seen in details on that. Don't really remember exact model of that camera but I think this one can be used to see the Moon as well...

What the hell :D You should have weapon spy papers to carry this :D

The size of the camera is very deceiving! 😜

untitled.png

hahah indeed :D

Wow that is really cool. Amazing that little thing can do that. Thanks for sharing I really need to get a nice camera like that.

It's a nice camera, indeed. The only downside I saw so far is the it comes without an external charger and the little cover for the usb entry doesn't seem very sturdy.

I solved it by buying a compatible external charger on eBay. 🍺

I think the test turned out pretty well! You almost can see what are the guys grilling there!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trincowski
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=testing-the-zoom-of-my-new-camera-by-the-moskva-river-52aa75ad804b6est


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Very cool device!
Excellent zoom

Hi @trincowski!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.497 which ranks you at #6386 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 232 contributions, your post is ranked at #157.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Looks like you made the right decision.

Nice images.

Namaste, JaiChai

Yes, it was well worth the money!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63897.91
ETH 3131.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87