Modern vs Old Architecture - Melbourne, Australia pt.IIsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I think the Eureka Tower would be anyone's favorite modern building, you can go all the way up to the top and enter a special viewing room called "the edge" that is entirely made of glass and slides out of the building view it here.

On the other hand the old jail that held executions is pretty creepy yet the design is wonderful.


Photos are in HDR, I'm practicing the skill.

Eureka Tower

It was the world's tallest residential tower when measured to its highest floor, until surpassed by Ocean Heights and the HHHR Tower in Dubai. It is the second tallest building in Australia, behind Q1, Queensland, and is the tallest to roof (excluding spire). As of 2016 it is the 15th tallest residential building in the world. source

IMG_9601_2_3_1_stitch.jpg


State Library Victoria over shadowed by me Bank

IMG_0119_20_21_1.jpg


Abode318 Hotel

IMG_0122_3_4_Enhancer.jpg


Old Melbourne Gaol

It was first constructed starting in 1839, and during its operation as a prison between 1842 and 1929, it held and executed some of Australia's most notorious criminals, including bushranger Ned Kelly and serial killer Frederick Bailey Deeming. In total, 133 people were executed by hanging. Though it was used briefly during World War II, it formally ceased operating as a prison in 1924; with parts of the gaol being incorporated into the RMIT University, and the rest becoming a museum. source

IMG_0125_6_7_Enhanced_stitch.jpg

IMG_0146_7_8_1.jpg

IMG_0149_50_51_Painterly.jpg

IMG_0143_4_5_1.jpg


IMG_0402_3_4_1.jpg


Swinburne University of Technology

IMG_9893_4_5_Enhancer.jpg


Canon 30D
Lightroom
Photomatix
@tomekkk

Sort:  

Awesome pics, breathtaking.

Thank you :)

Those are very good, really atmospheric!

You won't catch me on that skydeck with my fear of heights. I doubt if I could make it to the 5th floor in the inside elevator LOL. Thank you for scaring me. Smiley face 3.jpg

hahah, I used to have fear of heights too, but somehow it doesn't bother me that much anymore.
Cheers for popping in :)

Beautiful shots mate :]

Cheers dude, I try :D

I do love the old buildings ^_^ And I also loved the wibbly one! XD I reckon the old jail building would make a pretty interesting atmosphere for a museum, not so sure about an educational institute though! Actually if they were covering history and stuff maybe it's perfect XD

Loved your inclusion of the little facts and oh my goodness that sky!

I love the sky too, that's why I try to capture photos in HDR :)

Have you written about how you put them together before?

Not yet, but I was thinking to do that after this series :]

That would be a pretty cool read :D

It's definitely very cool to see the differences between the old and new architecture. We have come a long way!

Yea mate, both are impressive, but I like the fact that the old had to be carved by hands, where as the new is all made by machine.

Would love to go to Melbourne, and Australia in general. It's high up the list, so as soon as I can, I'll be sampling some of these delights! :)

Well enjoy while you are here :)

Nice tomekkk. Thanks for sharing.

Cheers mate!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by tomekkk from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61720.10
ETH 2429.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63