A Selfie Trip to the Botanical Garden

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hello my awesome Steemian friends, so I entered a contest by @papa-pepper. It’s a daily selfie contest and
I intend to win. As the host of the weekly sundayselfies contest, I'm excited to be a part of another selfie contest.

The theme of his(@papa-pepper’s) contest is plant.

IMG_20171010_113942.jpg

For my entry in this contest, I decided to go the extra mile and visit the botanical garden at the University of Ibadan. It’s not as if I got no plants in my backyard but maybe I just needed an excuse to get into nature.

IMG_20171010_113959.jpg

Plants are a very crucial part of our ecosystem and our existence.
They were created to beautify the earth and serve us with food, clothing and shelter(basically).

IMG_20171010_122659.jpg
Mosses (the little green guys on the rock) are part of the plant kingdom.

This is the university of Ibadan Botanical garden and here you will find some of the most diverse specie of plants in the country.
I can't share all the pictures I got in this post so I'm only going to share the selfies. It was a selfie trip.

IMG_20171010_122406.jpg

My favorite plant in this garden is ‘Igi Aye’, ‘the tree of life’ or the magical tree of life and wealth’. Legend has it that the one who can climb to the top of this tree with bare hands will be the richest man in Africa (like Aliko Dangote) but if you try and fail, then you and your entire lineage will be stuck in an endless circle of severe poverty and misery. Who wants to climb the magical tree?

During my time of relaxation at the garden I met some students from the University and they were very fascinated by Steemit. They asked me a lot of questions and I was excided to tell them about this lovely community.

IMG_20171010_121311.jpg

Dear @papa-pepper, you asked for a plant but I give you a forest. I present to you the Botanical Garden, University of Ibadan, Nigeria, Africa.

Thank you for spending your precious time to read this post.


Sundayselfies is a fantastic way to show love and give to the people you care about in Steemit.

It's a weekly selfie challenge that spans the entire week. It opens on Sunday and closes on Saturday.

Click on the link below for more details.

https://steemit.com/photography/@tojukaka/sundayselfies-7-family

kaka-s.png

chapter three.png

Sort:  

It is nice to see you posting about that Botanical Garden. I hope you win.

You are welcome. You also write great blogs. I adore that.

Nice! A selfie of you on top of the Igi Aye would definitely make you the winner tho ;)

Hahahaha...
I wouldn't want to risk the wealth of my entire lineage on a tall old tree...
Lol

Thank you for your comment

Its a myth though...

Your camera takes great selfies, I hope you win too. I'm curious to know which phone you use. The front camera is sure built for selfie. It's even better than my primary camera 😬

Phantom 6 plus
Its a great phone
Hahaha...

Thanks for the compliment bro

I thought as much, Tecno Phantom series rocks.

I like how a selfie turned educative...
Hope you can still find your way out of that forest though....😂

You are welcome sire..

Dear @papa-pepper, you asked for a plant but I give you a forest. I present to you the Botanical Garden, University of Ibadan, Nigeria, Africa.

Hahahahaha.... @tojukaka you seriously in it to win it
Wish you luck

Yes ooo
I can now come and share the loot with my sundayselfie people. thanks for the comment...

Good idea..😁😁
Go toju! Go toju!! Go toju!!!

Way to get in on the action with @papa-pepper!!!

Stopping by to give you a head's up on ArtAtSteemfest!!! I hope you'll jump on this opportunity as an artist and a host of a Steemit Art Initiative!

https://steemit.com/steemfest/@everlove/call-for-art-for-steemfest2-exhibition-open-to-individuals-and-steemit-art-initiatives

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54483.11
ETH 2297.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28